We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat coming from Two Tannery the night before” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm

Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm
7 Crosstown Road, PO Box 367, Dover, VT 05356
+1 802-464-8131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Dover
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Join us at Nonna's - The ONLY Italian restaurant in the Valley- for great Italian cuisine in a casually elegant and friendly atmosphere. Enjoy Executive Chef Jeff Collins' masterful northern and southern Italian classics along with fresh seafood brought in daily.
Armonk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A treat coming from Two Tannery the night before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The service and food was very good. We paid the same price the night before at Two Tannery and this was such a better experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your trip advisor review. We value our guests experience and are always trying to improve our services. We look forward to seeing you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Italian comfort food in an nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When you walk into the building and go upstairs, you'll fist walk through a very warm and inviting sitting area with a fireplace before the entrance of the dining rooms. People are very friendly and welcoming. I live in NYC, so the way the tables are set up seems so spacious.
Their menu consists of Italian comfort food like meatballs, Chicken parmigiana and masala. I had a veal, which was delicious. My husband's chicken parm was OK. More than NYC prices, but I think this is common in this area since they have to depend on seasonal business.
Decent wines.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a trip advisor review. We appreciate the feed back since we are always trying to improve the experience our guests have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I came to Nonna's tonight for our 31 st anniversary dinner. Jill sent over Prosecco to start us off. Then Al the sommelier, brought us over a wonderful Chianti after we perused the wine menu and couldn't decide what we wanted. Ashley our server was friendly and attentive. We began with a sample of the clam chowder which was delicious! Then had the Brie en croute served with a croissant atop a wonderful raspberry sauce. The next course was the crab cake with a chipotle aioli atop greens, and my husband had Mama's meatballs. Both were delicious! We ordered salads, good but should have asked for my balsamic dressing on the side as it was a little too much. My entree was the steak Medici- a filet served in a reduction of wine and exotic mushrooms with broccoli and pilaf and my husband had the duck in the raspberry sauce with grilled peaches. Both were excellent! The sauce on my steak could have been reduced by half as it was a little overpowering, but overall the meal was one of the best we have had in this valley in all the years we have lived here. Dessert was a simple sampling of the pistachio gelato, black raspberry and lemon sorbet and a great port. We had one of the best meals we have had in this valley and would highly recommend Nonnas.! Thanks to the great and friendly staff as well. We had a wonderful experience and will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so very much for your positive review of Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We ate there during the recent stay. . Our reservation was for 8:15. By the time we were ready to order, we were informed that the salmon was out. There was only one other fish on the menu. In general menu needs interesting items for a place like the Inn at Saw Mill. The duck was superb. Pricing is a bit high but all restaurants in Vermont are slightly overpriced anyway. Entries come relatively fast after salads/soup.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What happened??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Have eatin here several times in the past year and enjoyed it thouroughly. Our last few visits were very below average to say the least. Especially the execution of the food. Is the same chef still working there?? I cannot understand why one of my favorite restaurants is now close to the bottom Of my list of restaurants to visit. Very dissapointed for the first time at nonnas. It went from the best in town to close to the worst. Too bad a great restuarant is loosing its edge. Sorry but we wont be returning

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm also viewed

 

Been to Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonna's Restaurant at the Inn At Sawmill Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.