We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bears Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Big Bears Lodge to your Saves list
Big Bears Lodge
344 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel amenities
Florida
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We found the Big Bears Lodge to be a great place ro stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the breakfast was great with so much to choose from.
The owners Caroline and Steve are really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. If you asked what the weather was going to be like for the day, Steve would rush off to the computer and find out. They know the area well and were full of information as to where to go for a visit and also where to eat. Although we are older and did not have a use for the outside facilities, it is a great place for children with a wonderful play area and a large swimming pool. Would be a good place to have a family reunion for all age groups. I would thoroughly recommend Big Bears to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We have spent several weekends this year travelling to Vermont and have gone back to Big Bears Lodge on each occasion. Steve and Caroline have, from the first time we met them, been friendly, helpful and welcoming making this place feel like our home away from home. We have stayed in different rooms throughout the Lodge, depending on availability (we often book and arrive late) and have found each one clean and comfortable. Obviously the money you are prepared to spend is reflected in the size/quality of the furnishings in each room. A cooked breakfast, included in the price, was a nice surprise on our first morning as we have often eaten at mount snow which can be pricey.
The Lodge has free Wi-Fi, very convenient when the snow is coming down on a Monday and you're off "sick" from work. There are two lounges and plenty of magazines to read.
The Lodge is conveniently located on Route 100, not far from Mount Snow base Lodge. The Moover bus stops at the gate and there are plenty of great restaurants close by.

I would have no problem recommending this place to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

The wife and I went on a ski weekend to Mt. Snow. I wanted a clean not to expensive room to crash in. This was the perfect place. Quit time is at 10:00pm. The lodge also had a very nice breakfast included and the staff was friendly. We will stay here again. Close to the mountain.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Just returned from 3 nights at the Big Bear Lodge over school vacation week. Location is quite good -closest non-resort property to Mt. Snow and lots of good restaurant options nearby. Rooms are clean enough, but the whole place is dark, dim and dated. Beds very uncomfortable. Very old TV with no remote. No room amenities including no hairdryer, coffee pot, toiletries never replaced... Has the feel of a VERY low budget motel. Would have happily tolerated all of the above to be so close to a great ski are, but the owner's complete lack of service really made our stay 100% unpleasant. I agree with the previous reviewer that the owner (female) appears to be very burned-out. She clearly works very hard, but is harried and curt and is unhappy if you have not followed all of her rules (and there are many). Although it is very close to Mt. Snow, if you have to get in a car or shuttle, what's the difference if you travel 2 minutes or 10? There are many other options along Rt. 9. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We booked late for a holiday weekend, so our choices were a somewhat limited. We arrived late on Friday night, and the owners left our room open for us with a note at the desk that we could formally check-in in the morning. That was nice. Continuing with the positive, the Lodge is conveniently located, less than a mile to the main base lodge at Mt. Snow. In addition, the room was pretty quiet and the hot breakfast, which is included, is a nice plus.

Some negatives. The owner (female) is not really a people person. She pretty much runs the show while her husband works mainly in the background. I'd tell you her name, but in the course of our three night stay, she never introduced herself. She did make a number of off-hand comments to us, and to several other guests, that left us with the impression that she's been in the service industry too long.

There were ants in our room. I didn't think you could have ants in February in Vermont, but apparently you can. I saw one just as we got into the room, but, thinking it was a rogue ant, I quietly squished it so as not to turn off my wife or daughter. Unfortunately, there were quite a few ants. In fact, my daughter got up on our first morning there and came out of the bathroom to announce that there was an ant on the head of my wife's toothbrush. Nice. Other than the ants, the room appeared to be clean. The beds were okay. The TV was very old, had poor picture and no remote. Granted, we didn't pick the place for the TVs.

The BYOB bar is also a BYOG (bring your own glasses) bar. I can understand not having a liquor license, but if you invite people to gather at the bar with their own liquor, you might want to have some (any) glasses. We went back to our room and used the plastic cups provided in the bathroom.

The hot tub was small, old, and was enclosed in a tiny little room with poor ventilation. I guess they were trying to create a hot tub/suana dual purpose room, but unfortunately the room doesn't work for either purpose. It's hard to breath in the confined space when you're trying to relax in the hot tub, and the smell of hot tub chemicals and noise from hot tub jets would make it very unpleasant to try to use as a sauna. The hot tub is supposed to be open until 9pm, but my daughter and her friend went down at 8:30 to find that the owner was closing it early, and had just put cleaning chemicals in it, becuase there wasn't anyone in there. On the busiest weekend of the year she couldn't wait the extra 30 minutes??

In sum, for $220 a night you'd expect better. If the place wasn't right next to Mt. Snow, you'd be hard pressed to justify half that price. We love Mt. Snow, and will be returning soon. However, because of the ants, and becuase of what my wife and I thought was really sub-par attention to detail (even for a "budget") lodge, we won't stay at Big Bear's again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

very friendly staff, clean & warm rooms. delicious cooked breakfast, close to the mountain & hot tub / big sceen tv in the lounge. would definately go back.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We just returned from a 3 night mid-week stay and really liked everything about this B&B -- the room rate, the clean and comfortable rooms, and the owners Caroline and Steve, who are very welcoming and eager to please their guests.

The web site is quite thorough in describing the property and amenities, including photos of each of the rooms, which differ in size and bed configuration. It's possible to reserve rooms on line, but I called and asked Caroline which room she would recommend for our family of 3 and she chose one which turned out to be quite spacious and recently renovated. As a "scent-sensitive" person, I appreciated the complete absence of any musty odors or smells from perfumy cleaning supplies.

The breakfast, which is included in room price, was cooked to order and outstanding. One could order from a menu of eggs any style, blueberry pancakes, french toast, and high quality sausage and bacon.

We liked the "no-smoking anywhere inside the Lodge" policy. And although we do not have young children, we could see that it is a very child-friendly place -- there is a very large swing/slide playground set and swimming pool in the beautiful back yard.
And there are several rooms in which pets are allowed.

Free Wifi is advertised although we didn't try it. We enjoyed the cable tv.

Looking forward to returning to this place and would recommend it to all!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
10.8 mi away
Stratton Mountain Resort
Stratton Mountain Resort
#1 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Matterhorn Inn
The Matterhorn Inn
#4 of 15 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#8 of 15 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow
0.1 mi away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#10 of 15 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
2.2 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#5 of 15 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bears Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bears Lodge

Address: 344 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bears Lodge offers ideal lodging for visitors to Mount Snow, Vermont. The Mount Snow Ski Resort of Southern Vermont offers something for every taste in every season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Bears Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bears Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bears Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.