We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Inviting Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bears Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Big Bears Lodge to your Saves list
Big Bears Lodge
344 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel amenities
Calabash, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Warm Inviting Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been staying at this location (under different names and different owners) for over 20 years. It is very close to Mt. Snow. The rooms are not the Marriott, but they are clean and inviting. The owners (Steve and Caroline) could not make us feel more welcome. Breakfast is varied, good and filling. We come every year with a group in February to ski the local slopes. We have been made to feel so welcome, that we have never looked for another place to stay. Groups (along with families) are made to feel welcome and important. Steve and Caroline have upgraded many things in the lodge since they have taken over. Every year, we find new and upgraded amenities. The lodge has a large TV room (in addition to TVs in every room), a library room, a hot tub, a game room and a bar area for congregating. Since the lodge does not have a liquor license, you can bring your own beer, wine or liquor. Our ski group stays here every year. We hope to continue to stay here for years to come.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

we stayed 2 nights in January, in room 112. it is perfect for a family, with bunk beds, a queen and an extra cot that was already there when we arrived. The breakfast is served in a charming dining room and is delicious, made on order. what i loved the most about this inn is the playroom, downstairs, far away from the bedrooms ! my daughters spent hours playing with all sorts of toys and my husband and I could relax after a long day of ski. i recommend it for families ! also, it is very close to the ski resort, and to several restaurants. The only complain : noisy floors in the corridor leading to all the rooms (when someone walks, you hear it, but if you are tired enough, you don't pay attention to it !
for the price we paid, i have to say it is a really good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Big Bear Lodge is just a short distance from the mountain entrance at Mount Snow. My son and I stayed there and found it very comfortable and clean. Full breakfast with eggs or choice of cereals, muffins etc. They have a hot tub which we didn't use but it looked okay. There is a couple of TV/sitting rooms that would give a larger groups a place to gather. Best of all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The lodge is just outside the Mt. Snow entrance, so it was very convenient. Rooms were clean and cozy, with a lot of different bedding options available. Breakfast was very good, both hot and cold options available. Only drawback was that we had a room close to the stairs, and there was noise from people walking up and down at night and in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Steve and Caroline, thank you for everything you did for us all this weekend. Breakfast was excellent, dinner as well. This was our first trip to Vermont and it was excellent. We felt very welcomed at your lodge. Check-in was easy, everything was ready when we got there. Excellent group of people for the murder mystery. I loved it here. Too bad I hate the cold....And to Mr. Bailey, thank you for a wonderful time. I've always wanted to do a Murder Mystery and you totally ROCKED it. Many thanks. Sue D. Huktov and Oscar Meyer....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When reading the reviews on this placed it seemed like a mixed bag, but more positive than negative. We were able to check in around 2pm. Our room was clean although small, which was fine because we pretty much spend the day out and about. There were 3 common areas you could hang out at, all very good sized, 2 with a fireplace. A pool table/game room was available as well as a bar (BYOB), refrigerator and ice maker. There was a hot tub but it was closed until winter. I just don't understand that at all. Breakfast came with the stay which was good although we wished they had home fries to go with the eggs (can't have everything I guess). Overall it was a positive experience and the room was only 98.00 with breakfast. I could not understand why other people gave it a bad review. If you're looking for a fancy hotel in this area, you won't find it. That is the charm of VT. I would definitely stay here again! The only thing I thought to be a little strange was that you could not go through the outside door (even though they had said they would leave it unlocked for us) to the porch. Evidently they lock or screw in the doors shut for the season. It was not far however to go to a smoking area. I also did not think the bed was very comfortable, but in all fairness to them I have a bad back. I would recommend this as a place to stay for its price, cleanliness, food, location and what it has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed here every time I visit the area. Caroline and Stephen are lovely, friendly and warm hosts. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is much nicer than just a continental, cooked to order. Family functions have been wonderful. They employ a very talented chef for private affairs, and he has never disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the road offer a nice country view, and the frequent wildlife makes it worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Bears Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bears Lodge

Address: 344 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bears Lodge offers ideal lodging for visitors to Mount Snow, Vermont. The Mount Snow Ski Resort of Southern Vermont offers something for every taste in every season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Big Bears Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bears Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bears Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.