We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Inn with the BEST Muffins EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhill Inn

Save Saved
You added Deerhill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deerhill Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Play Package!
Ranked #1 of 15 Dover B&B and Inns
CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cozy Inn with the BEST Muffins EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

From the moment you walk thru the screened door, the warm smell of the fireplace and hot cider tickle your nose!

The room was very spacious and cozy with a fireplace and tub for 2. A backdoor brought you to a porch overlooking the grounds. Many windows gave you a mountain view.

The food was amazing! From the blue cheese flan, eggplant soup, potato pancake, thick french toast, homemade muffins sprinkled with powdered sugar to the asparagus goat cheese omelette!!! Everything was fabulous!

Stan and Michael are supurb innkeeper/chef! Thank you for a special 13th anniversary!

~Michele & Tom

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
176
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

The Deerhill Inn in West Dover Vermont was truely amazing. The room that we stayed in was large and romantic (Tamarack room). The fireplace, tub w/ jets, private balcony, and views of the mountains were beautiful.... and this was just the room. The inn also has two sitting rooms, each with their own fireplaces. The inn was so quiet at night that you would think that you were the only ones there.
The food and wine were exceptional. The breakfast in bed was also delicious and delivered by the chef himself!! The only complaint I have is that our stay was too short. Cant wait to visit again.

  • Liked — to hard to decide, it was all amazing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at Deerhill Inn four times, in the Garden Suite. The suite is very luxurious--fireplace,jacuzzi tub for two,private entrance to the "grotto" pool,and a view of the Green Mountains that is left in your memory forever.

The cuisine of Chef Michael Allen is beyond compare. We had "breakfast in bed" delivered by Michael and Stan, luxury and a feast.

The tranquility of silence, romance,pampering,amazing cuisine,skiing,hiking,museums,antiquing,fabulous staff.
The Deerhill Inn has all this to offer and so much more.....

The Atwoods.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

We've been staying at the Deerhill for close to 13 years. My husband and I love it. The rooms are great. The food is awesome, both breakfast and dinner. I can't say anything bad. It's our little piece of heaven. We always go there to relax and forget the city.

  • Liked — Decor and comfort
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from our wedding weekend at the Deerhill Inn and we still cannot believe how perfect everything was! We had been looking for an inn to host our small group (21 guests), a place where they could feel comfortable. We looked at several southern Vermont inns during our planning process, but as soon as we walked into the Deerhill and met with Stan and Michael, we knew that we had found our perfect wedding venue. They worked with us to customize our menu and accommodated each and every detail that we came up with to personalize our wedding.
We had planned an outdoor sunset ceremony and were initially disappointed when the weather did not cooperate. However, when we walked into the lovely room that had been prepared inside, we were in awe. The cocktail hour and reception dinner were flawless and our guests raved about the food. Michael even baked our wedding cake and groom's cake!
The next morning, we had a brunch that included Belgian waffles, frittatas, salmon, fruit, baked goods, and mimosas. On Sunday afternoon, the weather cleared and we had a wonderful outdoor barbecue set under the trees in the back of the property. Michael grilled hamburgers and chicken outside. The perfect ending was his homemade ice cream with toppings.
All of our guests loved their rooms and my husband and I were thrilled with the Tamarack Room, where we stayed. We can't say enough about the service and TLC we received from Stan, Michael, Jeannette, and the waitstaff. Our guests commented on how friendly everyone was.
We would highly recommend the Deerhill for small, intimate weddings. Stan and Michael are the perfect hosts. They truly enjoy what they do and it shows! You can be sure that my husband and I will be frequent visitors to the inn for weekend getaways. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — The wonderful service provided by Stan, Michael, Jeannette, and staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Deerhill Inn. The Inn is lovely and has a beautiful pool/garden area in the back. But the best part of all was the food. The breakfasts were fabulous and offered lots of choice unlike most B&Bs--eggs, pancakes, french toast, granola, fruit, fresh muffins, etc. And we had a truly outstanding dinner. We live in an area filled with top-rated restaurants but this was truly one of the best dinners we've had in as long as we can remember. We were in the Garden suite--a nice 2-room suite with a 2 person jaccuzi tub. The bathroom is a little awkward though with two steps and the suite ceiling is a bit low (though we're both tall). When we go back, though, I think we'd prefer to stay at the back of the Inn overlooking the pool and garden.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sillyroo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Of all the places we stayed on our tour of New England, this was our favorite. We felt very welcome, but were also given privacy to just get on and do our own thing. The place wasn't full when we stayed so they kindly gave us a free upgrade to a lovely large room. The inn and rooms were really beautifully and tastefully furnished. The weather wasn't always great when we were there, but the room was so cosy it was quite nice relaxing in there anyway.
The inn has a lovely pool with a stunning view and great gardens.
Breakfast was amazing, the best breakfast (and naughtiest) I've ever had, but very beautifully made and presented, great service too. We ate in the restaurant in the evening once and it was very good, but quiite expensive with a limited choice, but nice for a treat.
We found the immediate area a bit strange, as it seemed more of a Winter resort and so a lot of things were closed up for the Summer and had a ghost town feel! Although it was only a short drive away to some lovely villages and towns and things to do.

  • Liked — The breakfasts, the beautiful decor and grounds
  • Disliked — The local village
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.