We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Deerhill Inn to your Saves list
Deerhill Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Dover B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were in the area this past weekend celebrating our 25th anniversary. My husband surprised me with the trip. He wanted to choose a place that would offer a wonderful dining experience as part of the weekend. He saw that Deerhill Inn was highly recommended and ended up calling and speaking with Ariane to see what was on the menu that particular night. They have a Great chef whose creations were not only beautiful to look at, but delicious!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
190
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Better than I could have expected. Chose to surprise my girlfriend for our 1st anniversary together and we both loved it. Scott and Ariane were awesome. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. We will definitely go again. Can't say thanks enough for how helpful the staff was in making the weekend perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I chose the Deerhill Inn after searching for the prefect place to have our destination wedding. Ariane and Scott took wonderful care of us and made the planning process a breeze. They cartered to our needs and made us feel like honored guests from the moment we arrived.The Inn is spacious and cozy,the rooms are large and well appointed. Breakfast was a treat and the restaurant served excellent dinner options in the evening. If you are searching for a place for a destination wedding or just for a weekend getaway this is the place! Can't say thank you enough to the Deerhill Inn owners and staff for taking such good care of us on our special weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Excited about skiing two more days before saying farewell to this winter, we booked a wine, dine and ski package at the Deerhill Inn. Arriving, we found the festively lit building just a few hundred yards up a hillside above Rt. 100 only a couple of miles south of Mt. Snow. Our room was the Sugar Maple with westward views that captured a fantastic sunset over Haystack Mountain and Mt. Snow. It was also equipped with a gas fired fireplace, a jetted soaking tub and a queen four poster bed. Cookies, mints and bottled water met us on our arrival. There was also cable TV, strong wi-fi, a video disc and music player with CDs.
Each morning the breakfast chef prepared terrific hot meals with fresh fruit and juice. The one dinner we had at the Inn seated by the fire was over-the-top delicious. The menu offered great choices with a very nice wine list. Romance was definitely in the air, as the gentleman at the next table took the opportunity to propose marriage to his companion. Which I found amazing, since earlier in the day at the Inn, I met another young couple checking in for their honeymoon.
Throughout our three night stay, we found innkeepers Scott & Ariane very attentive and caring to every need. We whole heatedly recommend the Deerhill Inn for your sojourn to the VT countryside.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to Vermont to see the snow for my wife's birthday. We stayed at the Inn a few nights and found it to be charming, warm and equipped with everything. The restaurant was delicious and designed a special menu for us for a special Birthday dinner. Breakfast was also delicious. Ariel, the Inn keeper was on everything and very informative. We will be back and recommend highly!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My Wife and I recently stayed here for my Birthday in Jan. and this Inn was the Best place to stay. They have thought of everything and we're never put out if we asked for something which was rare. Great Food in the rstaurant also...The Chef Excelenet made all my favorite foods and designed a menu around it for my Birthday Dinner...it was AMAZING!!! Breakfast is also very good. The grounds are beautiful,rooms excellent and very warm..we had a room with a fire Place...so nice. ALL Staff very accomidating and pleasant..Vermont is very laid back and relaxing and romantic. Hotel VERY clean...no complaints..stay here! Sophia the dog is an added Treat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were lucky enought to stay at the Deerhill Inn for 4 nights over the New Year's Eve weekend. The inn was cozy, warm and inviting. We stayed in the Dahlia Room, which was immaculate and clean. The bed was a little soft for our liking, but everything else in the room was just like home. The bathroom and oversized tub were incredibly clean, and housekeeping straightened our room while we were at breakfast every morning. Breakfast in the dining room (and our room) was just delicious, fresh fruit, muffins with jams, coffees, teas, and a specialty omelette or french toast was just yummy. The main rooms were cozy, with comfortable couches and fireplaces. The little bar was great to just grab a quick soda or glass of wine/cocktail. Adriane and Scott were wonderful inn keepers and truly made us feel at home and welcoming during our stay. It was just a perfect romantic getaway for our first trip together. We cant wait to return again soon!

Room Tip: I would ask which rooms are further from the main living areas to ensure a little more privacy and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.