We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST TIME there and Will be back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Deerhill Inn to your Saves list
Deerhill Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Dover B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“FIRST TIME there and Will be back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to Vermont to see the snow for my wife's birthday. We stayed at the Inn a few nights and found it to be charming, warm and equipped with everything. The restaurant was delicious and designed a special menu for us for a special Birthday dinner. Breakfast was also delicious. Ariel, the Inn keeper was on everything and very informative. We will be back and recommend highly!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
190
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My Wife and I recently stayed here for my Birthday in Jan. and this Inn was the Best place to stay. They have thought of everything and we're never put out if we asked for something which was rare. Great Food in the rstaurant also...The Chef Excelenet made all my favorite foods and designed a menu around it for my Birthday Dinner...it was AMAZING!!! Breakfast is also very good. The grounds are beautiful,rooms excellent and very warm..we had a room with a fire Place...so nice. ALL Staff very accomidating and pleasant..Vermont is very laid back and relaxing and romantic. Hotel VERY clean...no complaints..stay here! Sophia the dog is an added Treat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were lucky enought to stay at the Deerhill Inn for 4 nights over the New Year's Eve weekend. The inn was cozy, warm and inviting. We stayed in the Dahlia Room, which was immaculate and clean. The bed was a little soft for our liking, but everything else in the room was just like home. The bathroom and oversized tub were incredibly clean, and housekeeping straightened our room while we were at breakfast every morning. Breakfast in the dining room (and our room) was just delicious, fresh fruit, muffins with jams, coffees, teas, and a specialty omelette or french toast was just yummy. The main rooms were cozy, with comfortable couches and fireplaces. The little bar was great to just grab a quick soda or glass of wine/cocktail. Adriane and Scott were wonderful inn keepers and truly made us feel at home and welcoming during our stay. It was just a perfect romantic getaway for our first trip together. We cant wait to return again soon!

Room Tip: I would ask which rooms are further from the main living areas to ensure a little more privacy and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had the pleasure to visit the Deer Hill for the first time and found it to be welcoming and quite comfortable. The spacious rooms are delightfully furnished with especially comfortable beds, dressers/desks, and extensive closets. Meals are excellent, especially the dinners, and I hope to return to try out the new creations of the Inn's chef. No chance of going bored, with plenty of activities, including an excellent library, board games, innumerable local outdoor attractions (skiing and hiking being the standouts), and reliable, fast Internet access. Scott and Ariane are so attentive and always available to resolve issues or just ensure a wonderful stay. I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford,CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a wonderful spot for a singular getaway or group gathering. We chose this Inn to celebrate the birthdays of two of our group who had just turned 70. We were four couples,old friends, looking for a place to share a time together and enjoy good food and good company. Deerhill was not a disappointment in any category. The rooms were tastefully decorated, most with fireplaces, and the menu provided a variety of interesting appetizers,entrees,and deserts. We recommend the price fixe 4 course dinner at $95/couple-a great bargain. Breakfast is included in your room rate. The common areas downstairs and up are extremely comfortable and afford a homey atmosphere in which to gather for drinks,snacks and conversation. Don't miss the cookies. Owners Scott and Ariane made our visit all the more enjoyable. We'd like to visit again when the pool is open and the gardens are in bloom.

Room Tip: Rooms/Suites in the main part of the Inn overlook the garden areas and some have small comfortable d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were guests here at Deerhill Inn for dinner only. We went to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Beautiful location and inviting the moment you walk in the door. Our table was right next to the fireplace and that only added to the ambience. Service was spot-on and welcoming. Menu was limited, but seemed to have something for all. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Breakfast and dinner is always a very special treat! Cozy and warm with the fireplace lit. Many different birds to watch at the feeder as we ate. This was our 2nd visit. 1st stay was in the Tamarack room and we were very pleased with it. This time around we stayed in the Garden Suite which needs a little updating and rearranging. Wasn't able to watch tv in bed... Owner stated that is their next project to update that suite.

Room Tip: Tamarack is beautiful with a fireplace and double jacuzzi! Large bed, comfy couch! Nice back deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deerhillinn, Owner at Deerhill Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
They just beat us to it! We will have Garden Suite upgraded in time for the Holiday Season - a new sofa and bedside rugs, cozy curtains and a second TV with cable and DVD player in the bedroom ... just some of the things we plan for our two-room suite. And of course Garden Suite will still have its super-comfortable king bed, the wonderful view of our ski mountains Haystack and Mount Snow from both of the two rooms, a large jetted tub, and its own entrance on the first floor at a quiet corner of the Inn. Like our guests, we value the unique character of our country Inn but we do constantly improve our room amenities to enhance the special experience of your stay with us in the Green Mountains of Vermont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.