We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked on a Hillside, A Charming Comfortable Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Deerhill Inn to your Saves list
Deerhill Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Thanksgiving & Holidays!
Ranked #2 of 15 Dover B&B and Inns
Brooksville, Fl
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Tucked on a Hillside, A Charming Comfortable Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our top choice of B and Bs in Vermont....Because it was relaxed, friendly and a warm and cozy atmosphere. With blazing fireplaces and exceptionally comfortable furniture and rooms throughout, this inn gave one a homey atmosphere. The barn walls were rustic and tasteful....The garden must have been fabulous before the frost...Cute bar area...The restaurant was excellent and service outstanding. Morning breakfast was greeted with birds and squirrels and even in the rain, the view was tranquil....We have the White Pine Suite and loved the space with sitting area, fire place and the extra amenities...I commented to the waitress that I had never been at a B and B where they had a cute plastic bag to take the shampoo and soap if you wished to do so. The water and cookies were special after the long drive. Can't wait to go back. I bet it is beautiful in the winter.

Room Tip: White Pine Suite had a bathroom ceiling that sloped...Just be aware. Loved the top floor....quiet as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
189
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Head, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I had a the most wonderful time this past weekend celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary at the Deerhill Inn. The rooms are great and very cozy and comfortable. We both thought the food was EXCEPTIONAL! The surrounding views are very beautiful and the innkeepers Scott and Ariane are warm, friendly and very, very accomodating.

Room Tip: They have 2 suites with in room jacuzzi's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our first time will not be our last. I cannot say enough good things about this Inn. Upon arrival, we were greeted, welcomed and given the tour. Both of the owners could not have made us feel more welcome and tended to all our needs before we even asked. No detail of comfort was left undone. We had a wonderful room on the second floor with a balcony that looked out to the mountains. When we entered our room, the fireplace was going, water and homemade cookies were waiting for us and the room itself was so warm clean and inviting. After a long day of walking, we returned to hot beverages and snacks before dinner, a nice jet bath with the most comfortable robes. The food at the restaurant was OUTSTANDING. In the morning, we went downstairs for a wonderful breakfast, (included) and sat and relaxed and planned out our day. We felt so comfortable there, we did not want to leave. We have traveled many places and by far this Inn is on our all time favorites. Do not miss this gem. You will not want to leave.

Room Tip: We had the Evergreen room. Looked out to the mountains and had a lovely fireplace and the most comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012, the setting is wonderful with great views of the mountains. Try and get one of the front rooms on the first floor, these rooms are very large, have the best views and Veranda’s, great for sitting out with a glass of chilled wine.

Do use the restaurant, breakfast is wonderful and the dinners are to die for.

It was our 40th Wedding Anniversary during our stay here and I had prearranged breakfast in bed plus Flowers and Champaign for my wife when we returned from our day out. They provide wonderful Champaign and the Flowers were superb.

I would highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on First Floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay at the Inn was little short of fabulous!
Ariane was curteous and very helpful to everyone in the wedding party and her staff were superb during every phase of the wedding!
I cannot say enough about the service that we received at the Inn and the beds were extremely comfortable!

Room Tip: Unless you have a disability choose a room facing the valley on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We returned to Deerhill Inn after an absence of 9 years to celebrate our anniversary! At first, we were disappointed not to see the same owners, but were delighted that things were just as wonderful as we remembered them! We had a room with a balcony with a wonderful view of the mountains. Highlights included a massage that they arranged for us, the yummy breakfast and gourmet dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The innkeeper/owners, Ariane & Scott, run a magnificent inn. There is little reason to leave starting with the early morning coffee, the magnificent breakfast cooked to order, the afternoon refreshments, and wonderful dinners if you choose to dine in. If you prefer dinner elsewhere, they will provide great alternatives. Simply sitting on the grounds on pretty days or in front of your gas fireplace in the evenings is enough, but if you want more, the activities close by on the ski slopes or in Bennington and Brattleboro, and the hiking in the area will ensure you will sleep well.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies or patios are best -- we prefer the mountain views facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.