We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting, views and restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deerhill Inn

Save Saved
You added Deerhill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deerhill Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Play Package!
Ranked #2 of 15 Dover B&B and Inns
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting, views and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012, the setting is wonderful with great views of the mountains. Try and get one of the front rooms on the first floor, these rooms are very large, have the best views and Veranda’s, great for sitting out with a glass of chilled wine.

Do use the restaurant, breakfast is wonderful and the dinners are to die for.

It was our 40th Wedding Anniversary during our stay here and I had prearranged breakfast in bed plus Flowers and Champaign for my wife when we returned from our day out. They provide wonderful Champaign and the Flowers were superb.

I would highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on First Floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
180
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay at the Inn was little short of fabulous!
Ariane was curteous and very helpful to everyone in the wedding party and her staff were superb during every phase of the wedding!
I cannot say enough about the service that we received at the Inn and the beds were extremely comfortable!

Room Tip: Unless you have a disability choose a room facing the valley on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We returned to Deerhill Inn after an absence of 9 years to celebrate our anniversary! At first, we were disappointed not to see the same owners, but were delighted that things were just as wonderful as we remembered them! We had a room with a balcony with a wonderful view of the mountains. Highlights included a massage that they arranged for us, the yummy breakfast and gourmet dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The innkeeper/owners, Ariane & Scott, run a magnificent inn. There is little reason to leave starting with the early morning coffee, the magnificent breakfast cooked to order, the afternoon refreshments, and wonderful dinners if you choose to dine in. If you prefer dinner elsewhere, they will provide great alternatives. Simply sitting on the grounds on pretty days or in front of your gas fireplace in the evenings is enough, but if you want more, the activities close by on the ski slopes or in Bennington and Brattleboro, and the hiking in the area will ensure you will sleep well.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies or patios are best -- we prefer the mountain views facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had never been to this Inn, and now I never want to stay any place else. This inn was spectacular. We had originally booked a king size room, with no TV. When we arrived we decided we wanted a TV. Not a problem at all. They moved us to a gigantic room, with a beautiful view of the mountains. Every detail you can think of, they have included. In the bathroom, they even had a small bag, to take the toiletries home. The inn is truly a gem. My husband and I stayed on Friday and Saturday. Both mornings are breakfasts were delicious. You have a choice of eggs, pancake of the day or omelet of the day. No standing in line for a continental breakfast. You eat in the same dining room, that they serve dinner in. It is with linen and fine china. We also ate dinner with friends on Saturday night. The food was prepared so beautifully, not one of us, wanted to eat. We sat and just stared at the magnificent presentation. All 4 meals were a delight. We had appetizers and desert, with great wine. We did not want the evening to end. They did not rush our service at all. It truly was a beautiful dinner. We cannot wait to return. We felt so comfortable staying at this pristine property. The staff treated us, as if we were old friends. Wish the weekend did not have to end. There is always another time, that we will visit this spectacular property.

Room Tip: If you want a wonderful, quiet night's sleep, we suggest you go to this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hospitality and perfect. The Inn keepers Arianne and Scott do such a great job, the food is very good and the wine list very reasonable. The rooms are very clean and well appointed - I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown,NJ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went back to Deerhill at the spur of the moment for a little R & R and to get some work done. Oh, did I make the right choice! Everything was absolutely perfect! My room was perfect, the hospitality warm and genuine and the dining room is a miracle. Two amazing dinners with a sensibly and well-priced wine list. Deerhill is magical! I agree with other psoters that the damage done by Irene is truly sad. Lot's of businesses closed in Wilmington- very sad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerhill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.