We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit, especially if you use the Living Social deals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Layla's Riverside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Layla's Riverside Lodge to your Saves list
Layla's Riverside Lodge
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   145 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356 (Formerly The Four Seasons Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, especially if you use the Living Social deals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After purchasing and booking our stay at The Four Seasons Inn, we had to reschedule due to a death in our family. I expected difficulty...instead Sandy (the owner) not only accommodated us with no issues but gave us a honeymoon suite! The room was large and clean with a private deck overlooking a brook. Suite 1 had a fireplace and a hot tub which in most cases I would never use but it was spotless so I indulged and so glad I did! Bed had a feather pillow top and was big and comfortable. The Inn was quiet at night and we were able to open the windows and listen to the brook below us.

There was a flood in that whole area last year but there was little sign of damage to the Inn and no issues that come along with a flooded area like mustiness. It seems like the Inn has recovered nicely.

My only negative comment is that the food was somewhat inconsistent.

All in all, this was a great experience and well worth the value. Sandy and Lewis were warm and friendly, the location was great and the room and grounds were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
9
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our trip to the Four Seasons started out with discovering that we were still home the night of our first of two night reservation. Totally our fault. Calling Sandy informed us no problem, just come tomorrow, he had an extra open day on our room. Very accommodating, he did not have to do that. The room was clean and you could see the vac marks in the rug, even had a nice bunk bed. With their availiable wi-fi in place the the wife was happy to be able to be on-line. Me, I was in the adjacent river walking the stones. FUN! The first night we dined in. Now I'm not a pesto expert though ohh-la-la, the warm homemade bread spread with butter and chives with their pesto was just so terribly good ! Both our dinners were more than ample, sitting on the back patio listening to the peepers by the river just 50 feet away. I think my water glass never got low for more than a few minutes. And you can BYOB at dinner or anywhere in their ~6 acre spread. Sandy and his folks there are very hard workers, everything worked out well as expected. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My fiance Karen and I found the Inn through Living Social and just returned from a 2 night stay there after driving up from Stamford CT.. From the moment we arrived late Friday evening Sandy, Lewis, Pam, Desiree and the gang treated us like royalty. We got a free upgrade to a junior suite and the room was awesome with the bathroom simply terrific. Bed was firm and we slept like babies. The place has such a quiet relaxed country feel to it.

Breakfasts were delicious but the dinner Sandy and Lewis prepared for us Saturday night was off the hook! We started off with a shrimp cocktail that had some of the biggest and tastiest shrimp we have ever had. We were pleasntly surprised when the owner sent out a specially made "on the house" salad after the shrimp that would cleanse our palates for the main course.It was delicious! I ordered the NY Strip with risotto and fresh handpicked squash. The presentation was that of any 4 * restaurant and the meal itself at least that good!! Can I give it 5 *?? Karen ordered the Chicken Scallopini and what came out of the kitchen was awesome both visually and on the taste buds. Everything was sooooooo fresh and the chicken so tender when we finished we decided we had to order desert even though we were stuffed to the gills. We had some crepes filled with fruit and cream and little puff pastries that were so tasty yet light as a feather. A totally incredible dining experience from start to finish and all this while sitting in the beautiful dining room looking out over the nicely kept grounds!

We were so impressed with both the Inn and the staff that we told the owner Sandy we are looking forward to our winter vacation there of skiing and snowmobiling. We have stayed at other Inns and hotels in the area around MT Snow and the Four Seasons Inn is by far our favorite! Thanks so much for everything Sandy and Lewis and we will see you this winter!
Richie and Karen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Found this place via LivingSocial and were pleasantly surprised.
It is located on over 5 acres of Vermont country sidethatt is very well maintained and yet blends in with the Vermont rustic country side.
Our room was excellent, furnishings were beautiful and the fresh flowers were impressive. The Jacuzzi built for two was very enjoyable after a day of wandering around the mountains of Vermont. Many rooms have doors leading to outside decks, but even though our room didn't have direct access, there was still access to the decks via doors on each floor.
The food is to die for. Breakfast was included and it was not the typical "Continental Breakfast" but eggs your way or French toast with breakfast meat and very tasty home fries.
Had dinner the first night there and were so impressed that we decided to eat there the second night as well. The service was great, very attentive, but not intrusive.
Discovered that there are two chefs there, one is Sandy, the owner of the Inn and the second, Lewis, a young man on the staff. Both do a fantastic job. Presentations and taste rival 4 **** restaurants my wife an I have enjoyed in the past. Everything on the menu was freshly prepared from local produce and suppliers.
We plan to go back up in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Four Seasons Inn recently and overall had a nice time. The grounds are beautiful; the staff was friendly; and the food was very good. The room was ok, but my general impression of the furnishings was of shabbiness, kind of like the furniture and room had not been well cared for. A lot of the furnishings had seen better days, and the room smelled a bit musty. The one very weird thing was the door to the balcony, which had a huge window pane and no valance over it. Just a huge pane of glass facing a balcony and the pool, directly across from the bed. My husband asked for someone to come and bring a covering, but no one came, so he went back a little while later, and they told him that there used to be a covering, but it fell off due to overuse of the door and that no one ever asked for it to be covered! I found that extremely hard to believe because with no covering on that door, there is ZERO privacy in the room. They gave him a sheet, and he draped it up so that it covered the door, so we were at least able to have some privacy. Other than the door/window issue, we were pleased with the inn. The waitstaff was excellent, and the owners have the most adorable dog. Her name is Leila, and she's very friendly, visiting everyone's table during meal times but always staying on her best behavior. The wonderful staff and dog give the inn a homey, relaxed feel, but if you're a stickler for lavishly furnished rooms, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hero, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Four Seasons Inn for two nights. We arrived late and decided to have our dinner there. The food was excellent. The breakfasts both mornings were great. We had a very comfortable room. The staff was very friendly and helpful with ideas of things to do and places to go. During the ski season this inn would be a perfect lacation and would be warm and cozy on return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were the only guests when we stayed and yet the room was in poor shape. The tub didn't have a stopper, the fireplace we were told was for "looks" and apparently hasn't operated since the storm, there was a door in the room that led to the outside which had steps and there was no curtain on it. When we asked, we were told that there never was a curtain, yet there was a bent rod above it. We ended up using a blanket to cover the door. The owner never once introduced himself even though he was having dinner right next to our table. This place is obviously hurting after the flood and a bad ski season.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Layla's Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layla's Riverside Lodge

Address: 145 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356 (Formerly The Four Seasons Inn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Layla's Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Layla's Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layla's Riverside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.