We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away.....please!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Snow Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Snow Lake Lodge
7 Snow Lake Road, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Dover
Chappaqua, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay Away.....please!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Extremely disappointing hotel. Run-down, dirty, rooms are extremely small, bugs/insects in the rooms. Breakfast was digusting.....pre-pack cereal, stale bagels and packaged fruit. These folks had the nerve to charge $170 per night for this wonderful experience. Staff is friendly and nice, but that is the best thing I can say about this place.....of, I forgot the shuttle to Mt Snow is also convenient. This place need to be taken down and fully rebuilt if it has any chance to give Mt Snow a chance to compete with Stratton and Okemo. Go to those place instead for a better overall experience. West Dover has no character and very limited restaurant choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    44
    16
    18
See reviews for
35
21
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is an economy hotel with small rooms, dated finishes and noisy hallways. But its worth it for the great view of the ski mountain from the outdoor jacuzzi and especially looking out from the room in the morning. Anyway, after a hard day of skiing I can sleep through almost anything.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Myself and two friends stayed here for mount snow's college week. We found a deal from snosearch.com for $300 a person for 5 lift tickets and 5 nights. For being a cheap old lodge near a ski resort, we were pleasantly surprised with what we found. We needed a refrigerator for someone with dietary issues in our group, but the double we booked didn't have one. They gave us a free upgrade to a very nice suite with a King bedroom and pullout sofa. Joel and George at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The pullout bed sheets were not made, and they came up to change the them right away. The indoor hot hub is huge, and the sauna is clean but there are large windows from the bar, and the patrons are sometimes inclined to stare at the bathers in a creepy fashion. The outdoor hot tub is a great place to relax and look at the mountain after a day on the slopes. The maids were very through and pleasant. They even folded clothes laying around. The double bed rooms were rather small. Pretty decent continental breakfast. The Moover shuttle stops at SLL and can take you to the mountain and surrounding areas. Bottom line: Great staff and service make up for it being a kind of antiquated hotel.
PS- If you are traveling as a family with kids or really mind noise, don't go during college ski week. It will be loud.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Snow Lake Lodge is an economic opportunity to stay & ski Mount Snow. The lodge offers moderately sized rooms with views of the mountain (depending upon where you are located) in close proximity to the Main-base, Sundance, and Carinthia lodges. The lodge itself is still in need of some additional upgrades to individual rooms and common spaces in order to compete for customers that would prefer more defined amenities (room size needs to be increased or furniture needs to be slimmed down to allow for more floor space, bedding needs to reflect a higher quality, continental breakfast options need to be more robust and environmentally friendly (everything is disposable), hallway carpets need replacing, and board game options need to be more numerous & replaced).

However, our stay was pleasant and employees were friendly and well organized to meet customers' needs upon arrival. The lodge itself houses pictures of the lodge from previous decades that depict the charm and splendor that it offered to the Mount Snow area. In many ways the pictures make you feel connected to other ski areas showcased by the New England Ski Museum which allow you to overlook the many updates that the lodge needs.

The valley itself does not seem to have many economic lodging options so the Snow Lake Lodge permits a family to stay & ski Mount Snow more affordably than many of the surrounding inns and hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the mountain offer the most enjoyable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Snow Lake Lodge for 4 nights (December 23-27) and fortunately we didn't experience the "frat house" feel that other reviewers experienced. We weren't expecting much because of the price we paid compared to what our friends paid to stay at the Grand Summit Lodge during the same period as us (we saved $730!)...The Snow Lake Lodge is not fancy and it is old so don't expect plasma tv's, wi-fi in the room etc...What you do get is a basic room that is clean, small but quaint, quiet, well maintained considering how old the place is, with a friendly staff. The location of the lodge is very convenient and the "moover" shuttle bus comes every 15 minutes so you do not need to drive to the slopes. Also, all the restaurants a very short drive away...We didn't see or hear anyone running or shouting in our 4 night stay and we thought the lodge was too quiet considering the place was almost sold out during the Christmas week. Breakfast is minimal and very basic (cereal, donuts, bagels, coffee, juice, tea...). The heat in the room worked very well and you get to adjust the temperature...If you are looking for a clean and economical place to stay, I would recommend this hotel but if you are looking for a luxurious hotel with a spa, activities, etc. then you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dover, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

The pub in Snow Lake Lodge is now open upstairs & AWESOME!!! Bartender very friendly, drinks were reasonably prices, food was delicious & there was a pool table & huge TV in a full wall of windows over looking Mount Snow!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Went up for Octobrewfest and to show our support for the Deerfield Valley area that was devastated by Hurricane Irene. Check in was smooth. Rooms were very small but clean; furniture way to large for space. Although the parking lot was full, the halls were quiet. We were a little disappointed that the restaurant/pub was closed so no food or coffee available....a bit of a pain. Lodge is geared towards the ski crowd I guess.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lake Lodge

Address: 7 Snow Lake Road, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Snow Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lake Hotel Dover
Mount Snow Snow Lake Lodge Hotel
Snow Lake West Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.