We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like 'White Christmas'!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Snow Goose Inn to your Saves list
Snow Goose Inn
259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356 (Formerly Shield Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Dover B&B and Inns
Southampton, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just Like 'White Christmas'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Whether it's visiting with old friends or meeting new ones in front of a crackling fire, sharing cheese, crackers and wine, it's like coming home! To top off this particular chilly evening, snow began to fall and the next morning truly felt like scenes from the movie.
Homemade breakfast with baked bacon...OMG!
Great place to celebrate a birthday or just enjoy alone time.

Room Tip: A room with a fireplace in the winter can't be beat....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    32
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
202
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I find most B&Bs guilty until proven innocent -- guilty of overcharging, being cluttered with faux-Victorian or country kitsch, ironclad and inconvenient breakfast rules and menus, forcing guests to make awkward conversation with the host/other guests, etc. I forgot all of that when my girlfriend and I entered the Snow Goose Inn and met Cyndee. She's a wonderful host and great company -- attentive but not overbearing; smart and funny, welcoming, and extremely helpful (she went above the call several times during our stay). We stayed in a good-sized bedroom on the 2nd floor with a wood-burning fireplace (perfectly prepared with kindling and an ample supply of logs when you walk in) and a 2-person jacuzzi. It was quiet - admittedly we went when the inn was not too crowded (maybe 5 other sets of guests) -- and Cyndee made everything pleasant and easy for us, from making plans at the ski resort (just 5 min drive away) to thoughtful recommendations for dinner at local restaurants. She even offered to make reservations for us. The breakfasts were delicious - we had omelettes with spinach, mushrooms and Vermont cheddar one day, silky buttermilk pancakes the next - and the bacon is a standout. As other reviewers have stated, her blueberry muffins were so good, served warm. The kitchen is "open" so if you've got a late-night craving or want some tea before bedtime, you can help yourself. I really can't recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes,NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We try to make staying at the Snow Goose Inn an annual event. Whenever it is ski season, my kids automatically ask, "When are we going to go visit Cyndee and stay at the Snow Goose?" We all look forward to being pampered in just the right amount. The inn is charming, clean and comfortable - everything you could ask for in a Vermont experience. We all look forward to the outstanding breakfasts, warm atmosphere and getting to know the other guests at wine and cheese time. We have stayed at other inns and always end up comparing them to the Snow Goose. I'm not sure what their secret is but it keeps us coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Snow Goose Inn is a wonderful getaway. The inn is charming, each room unique. Cyndee is the perfect Inn Keeper making you feel welcome and relaxed. She is a delightful hostess who has a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area. The homemade breakfast is the best I have ever had. Delicious blueberry muffins along with bacon that is out of this world. We have been to the Inn for the winter season and I cannot wait to go back and enjoy some summertime golf and hiking. I highly recommend the Snow Goose Inn. Once you have been, you will be planning a return visit to this charming home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Cyndee is one of the best Inn Keepers we have met. We have stayed at this Inn a few times, We love all the rooms, our favorite though, is the large suite with the real wood burning fireplace (so much better than gas), a sitting area, huge bathroom with two person hot tub, just as neat and pretty and cozy can be. The Inn keeper is kind enough to leave you candles and the fireplace is always ready to be started.

Having stayed at over 50 inns over the past few years, we recommend this one highly. The breakfast is spectacular and the enivonment is relaxed. There is nothing "stuffy" about this inn, it's warm, cozy and place you really unwind.

Cyndee is a great innkeeper because she goes above and beyond to make her guests comforable and happy. Just delightful! We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with one one of the fireplaces that burn the old fashion way, there is nothing li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Snow Gose Inn this weekend for a short and sweet weekend away from home- what a wonderful and relaxing experience! The inn keeper, Cyndee, is beyond hospitable and kind. She was not in the office when we arrived, but she had left us a nice note with all the important details we would need. Our room was ready and perfect!! When I initially called to make our reservation, I had requested one of the traditional rooms, however, Cyndee was able to upgrade our room to one equipped with a fireplace, private deck, and jacuzzi tub with no hesitation. It was incredible!
We were able to meet and chat with Cyndee during the complimentary wine and cheese hour, during which she was able to give us the scoop on the best restaurants to try for dinner. Her recommendation was perfect for what we were looking for, and we were able to enjoy a nice, casual dinner.
In the morning, we awoke to the delicious and tempting smell of Cyndee's homemade breakfast spread! I had the french toast and bacon, which were superb, and the bluberry muffins certainly lived up to and exceeded the rave reviews I read prior to arriving at the Snow Goose Inn!
I absolutely recommend the Snow Goose Inn in all areas, and without hesitiation! We will certainly be back again soon!! Thank you Cyndee!!

Room Tip: Any room with a fireplace, very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked a room at the Snow Goose for a getaway weekend with some early skiing and just general relaxation. It was everything we hoped for and more! The inn itself is a beautiful old home, with all of the charm and character you would expect. We arrived to find a cheerful note from Cyndee, who we later met when we went in search of the complimentary wine and cheese. Cyndee is just lovely; she gave us great restaurant recommendations, showed us around, and generally made us feel at home. We weren't surprised when she popped out of the kitchen the next morning with coffee, tea, juice in champagne flutes and seriously delicious blueberry muffins. Breakfast was delicious and we couldn't stop saying how perfect it was to sit there, in front of the fire, watching the snow fall outside. I have grown up coming to Vermont, and this was exactly the type of place I wanted to bring my boyfriend for his first visit. My highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Tell Cyndee if you are a couple coming for a getaway; she will upgrade you to a suite if she can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Goose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.