We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add this to your list of favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Save Saved
You added Snow Goose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356 (Formerly Shield Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Dover B&B and Inns
old Saybrook
1 review
“Add this to your list of favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My family and I had the good fortune of staying at the Snow Goose Inn over the Christmas holiday. Cyndee, Ron and the entire staff where very accommodating and the breakfast was unbelievable. The rooms where comfortable, clean, quiet and the fireplace is a must. Location is within minutes to the mountain and our favorite restaurants. Yes, WIFI for the kids or workaholics. Did I mention how good the breakfast was?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    31
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
194
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

A collegue of mine and I stayed here because the lodge was full. We were very pleasantly surprised by how well this worked for business clientele. There was free wi-fi, wine and cheese in the evenings, nice accomodations and the best breakfast you could ask for. I would definitely return for either business or pleasure. It would make a perfect place for a business retreat or private meetings. Cyndee makes this inn truly special.

Room Tip: make sure to get a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I spent 2 wonderful nights at the Snow Goose Inn. This Inn is exactly what you would imagine a Vermont Bed & Breadfast to be and more. Cyndee was an amazing host who bent over backwards to make sure the stay was everything it could be. The rooms were a nice size and we loved the fireplace. The breakfast and service were icing on the cake.

Roughly a mile from Mount Snow it is a perfect spot for taking advantage of winter activities. If you are not a skier you will still find something to do. The local restaurants are also great and Cyndee is more then happy to help you find exactly what you are looking for. I'm looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to have been recommended this place from a family in the area that we were doing a photo shoot for. We found the place to be very acomidating when we asked to upgrade to a larger room with a fireplace. The night of our stay happened to be the night of the nor'easter that hit northern connecticut and western mass hard. Since the owner knew we were likely going home to homes with no power, she offered for us to stay as long as we needed to charge phones or take showers!!!! Since we had a generator we decided to head back, but not before having a wonderful breakfast that the staff braved 12" of snow to make for us.
Can't wait to return and do some skiing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We just got back from our stay at The Snow Goose Inn. Words cant describe how great of an expierence my wife and I had. It was my birthday weekend and I wouldnt have wanteed to spend it any where else. Cyndee is THE BEST host that we have ever had. She was more than helpful with suggestions for things to do and places to eat. Her breakfest in the morning is second to none. The eveing wine and cheese that she provides is great it is nice to get to know the other people staying at the inn. Our room was GREAT with a real wood burning fireplace and an oversized jacuzzi tub both nice features after a day out in the cold. We have traveled to many differnt places and we have never felt more welcome then at The Snow Goose Inn. You will NOT be dissapointed with your expierence here we HIGHLY reccomend staying at this inn!! Thanks again cyndee.

Mike&shauna Panella
Connecticut

Room Tip: All rooms are good here but pick one with the real fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival we realized we had visited is B&B nearly 15 years earlier. Although the decor may not have changes much,the hospitality is beyond compare! We enjoyed nightly wine and cheese by the fireplace, and great conversation with Cyndee, the owner, and many of the other guests (many of whom were return customers). Will definately return again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Like the reviews before this one, the star of the Snow Goose is Cyndee. We stayed in a large room with wood burning fireplace and large jacuzzi tub bathroom for 3 nights. Our booking was made via Living Social and included a visit to a local winery. Unfortunately the winery was closed during the days of our stay, but Cyndee compensated this for us with sincere apologies and a bottle of cabernet from the very same vineyard.

Cyndee and her staff do make you feel like family, and in a genuine way. Normally I shy away from social scenarios with any sense of immediate intimacy, but Cyndee has a way of making the close knit community of a B&B seem warm, inviting and natural. She truly loves what she does.

Mount Snow was less than 5 minutes up the road and that makes this a deal closer for our next ski trip, but I can't help thinking what a Summer evening on the outdoor decks must be like at the Snow Goose.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Goose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.