We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow to your Saves list
Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow
89 Grand Summit Way, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location! It is ski in/ ski out with a very efficient ski valet. The hotel is very basic. We were in a studio with a pull out sofa bed & a Murphy bed. Not a very comfortable room! I had a great service at the spa, although the spa, was a bit of a joke. The restaurant had no ambiance. Breakfast was included & was average. Not great, not horrible.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
70
52
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is our second year coming to Mount Snow as a family. Once again our vacation was amazing. The Grand Summit Resort is the perfect place to stay with kids. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The breakfast is always great. We stayed in a one bedroom with a kitchen and pull out couch. Plenty of room even with all the ski and snowboard gear. We were able to cook if needed or head downstairs to eat. The ski in ski out is perfect, and the ski/snowboard shed check in makes it so easy for everyone. Really nice to not have to lug the equipment everywhere. This year the ski conditions were fabulous. Great mountain for all levels of skiing. I am not a huge cold weather person or much of a skier but this is a really great family vacation spot. My husband and kids could ski and snowboard s much as they wanted on the more difficult slopes and could hang with me on the smaller runs. When I was done, it was easy enough to ski right to the resort. We are really looking forward to another family trip next year....

Room Tip: Looking for a family, we love the one bedroom with the kitchen....tons of room Ask to stay near y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We (friends & Family) had a great time. After a great day of skiing we hit the pool, out of doors. Had a nice dinner in the evening at the Grand Summit and met new people at the Grand Summit's bar. We had plan to visit a local bar but we had such a great time at the summit, we stayed.
We're making plans to do it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Went Feb 17 - 21. Family of 4 chose the 1 bedroom with pull out couch and murphy bed. Nice layout, good kitchen and it came with breakfast. Our room was on the second of 3 floors. Not too noisy. The main entrance is on the ground floor and the ski slopes, gym, pool and spa are the 1st floor. They have a laundry room on the ground floor. Shaw's is a large supermarket on Rt 9 about 20 min away. We passed it on our way to the hotel.
They have a ski valet outside and you just put your skis on and ski down to a lift. Getting back for lunch or the end of the day was just as easy.
Check in was at 6 PM and all the carts were in use. Same problem with check-out. All the carts (and they do have plenty) are taken by 8:30 AM. As it is a time-share most of the owners know this and they take the carts early.
We had an issue with the heating unit and it was fixed quickly.
We asked for a mountain side view but got a valley view (parking lot). It was fine as some of the mountain view rooms are above the pool and hot-tub which can get loud at times.
Harriman's, the on-site restaurant, is decent but can get crowded so plan on making a reservation or eating early/late.
Decent gym and spa services.
Tubing was fun but can get crowded after 3 PM.

Room Tip: room 136 is across from the spa and gym. It may get noisy. 1 bedroom layout with kitchen was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Are we crazy for going skiing during Feb vacation week? Perhaps. But you go when you can, right? (We stayed from Friday night to Tuesday.) We were fortunate to have been offered use of a friend's timeshare at the Grand Summit. We arrived Friday night, Feb. 14 around 8:30 to a chaotic scene. Oddly enough, it was a rather organized chaotic scene and aside from kids running around like spinning tops, the process of checking in went very smoothly. If you go during this time, bring your love of children with you and don't be afraid to strike up conversations where you can with parents. A friendly demeanor will go a long way.

From the friendly valet parking staff who help unload entire car-loads at a time with a generous smile, to the front desk who assured me that it would not be a problem when my college aged children showed up at 2am to meet us at the hotel - everyone was helpful. I did not find any staff member who was less than their best.

The room itself was ample and spotlessly clean. (Always number one on my list.) The Murphy bed was comfy and the kitchen well supplied. We did, indeed use it - stove/oven, too. I would have told you that the pull out mattress was a bit beat, but my 20 y/o son told me it was more comfortable than his dorm bed. 'nuf said. There was plenty of room for ski boots and snow boots alike. (Skis get checked in at a little heated hut out side the first floor and steps away from the slopes.) There were also MANY hangers in the closet - which was good because there was only a 3-drawer wardrobe which housed the TV. The unit is dated - the mic and stove and dishwasher are not new but they worked well and again, were clean.

If you go during ski season, bring a boot warmer to dry out mittens/gloves, as they strictly disallow gloves/etc on the heating units. (There is a laundry facility on the ground floor.)

You absolutely cannot beat the ski on/ski off feature. We did not have to battle the amazingly crowded lodge areas just to warm up in sub-zero wind chill temps. (Yes, we poked our heads in and we were elbow to elbow with people pushing and shoving their way around.) Instead, we could ski back to the hotel, head upstairs for a hot cocoa and 30 min later head back out again. It was heaven and spoiled me terribly.

You should check out the outdoor hot tub. Again - there will be a ton of kids during vacation week - but get there before the slopes close and you will have a bit of "ahhhh" time. I actually got a bit of a sun burn.

Make reservations at the hotel restaurant early if you expect to eat there. Otherwise, go a bit later for a local craft brew on tap and some live music. (Did I mention the groups of friends that will eat at the bar because they do not make reservations? They will hog up the seats and then not sit at them while their kids run among them. Either bring your patience with you or go at about 9pm.)

We also took advantage of private ski lessons. Pricey, yes, but worth it, in my opinion. My daughter and I took a 2 hour lesson together. There's always something new to learn and work on when skiing. The instructors are patient and really love their craft as well as sharing it with students. (Shout out to Larry. )

I found everyone who worked at this resort to be on top of their game this week. From the housecleaning staff to the chair lift employees. It was so freakin' crowded on Saturday and Sunday and all these people had smiles on their faces and an ease in how they would help you. They even had ski staff placed at strategic places on the mountain to encourage speedy skiers/boarders to slow down.

Bottom line - you can't always choose when you get to go. But if you get up early, you can get about 4 or 5 runs in from the top of the mountain before the crowds get there and the runs get chopped up around 1 or 1:30. Monday and Tuesday were much less crowded. In my experience, the hotel staff did their best to make our stay enjoyable and was a pleasure to deal with.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Grand Summit is the perfect location and has the best amenities for skiers. Our ski club returned for a fourth year and was not disappointed. There are plenty of sitting areas to meet up and the fireplace is very inviting. Of course, a car valet, a ski valet and an outdoor hot tub and pool only add to our enjoyment. As another reviewer noted, check in is not guaranteed until 6 p.m. but the hotel will check your luggage and you can use the lockers in the fitness room to change your clothes. When we arrive we leave our car with the valet and head off for the slopes. When we are done skiing we ski down to the hotel and check our skis. More often than not, our room is ready when we come back in from skiing. Our ski club loves the Grand Summit and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked a very expensive room, arrived at 3PM to check in....but amazingly we were told our room wasn't available until 6PM! "It's resort policy"....no apology, no regrets, "it was stated on your reservation confirmation"....But no, it was NOT stated anywhere on our reservation confirmation! So, we spent a few hours with our luggage in the lobby....nice!

Check out time the next day was 11AM. I've never paid over $300 for a room I could only stay in for 17 hours....and nobody on staff had even the remote hint of being sorry for our inconvenience.

Never heard a thank-you from anyone, either. I consider friendly service a priority, being on the ski hill is not a good enough excuse for treating your guests like they are a bother.

The room: worn out. The towels: threadbare. The carpets: soiled and worn. The woodwork and walls: scuffed and stained.

This hotel should charge half the rates they are charging now, then it would be close to reality. And train the staff, there is no excuse for rudeness.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow

Address: 89 Grand Summit Way, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escaping to a world of complete relaxation and exhilaration to fulfill your next great adventure craving has never been easier than visiting the Mount Snow Grand Summit Resort Hotel. Located in the renowned Green Mountains our idyllic, year-round resort is an incomparable staging ground for your outdoor vacation activities with family, or for a romantic getaway. We offer guests just about every amenity imaginable so there is truly something for everyone. This is in part why we’re fast becoming a leading wedding and conference destination. Let us help you begin your Grand Vermont adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Hotel
Summit West Dover
West Dover Summit
Grand Summit West Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.