We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow to your Saves list
Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow
89 Grand Summit Way, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
GreenLeadersBronze level
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mostly Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Summit while I attended a golf program at Mt Snow. My wife is not a golfer and came along planning to use the spa and do some hiking. The check-in was fast, our room which is sort of a studio with a small kitchen area and a Murphy bed, was adequate, clean and nicely furnished. We did have some problems with th air conditioning. I guess 90 plus degree days are unusual in Vermont. My wife visited the spa on Monday to make and appointment for some services. The attendant was definitely not interested in doing her job. Anything my wife asked for was not available or at inconvenient times. The next day with a different attendant a program was quickly put together that met her needs. The restaurant is closed Monday through Wednesday but because we had the kitchen we made our own breakfasts and ate out for lunch and dinner. Overall not a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William W, Assistant General Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Grand Summit Resort. I hope you enjoyed your golf outing at the Mount Snow Golf Course. I am sorry that you had a poor interaction with one of our spa staff on the Monday of your stay. I will pass this information on to our Spa Manager and look into providing some further guest service training with that staff member. We are always looking to improve and your comments are invaluable in helping us to attain our goals, so thank you for your honesty and we do hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting your next golf getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    88
    28
    20
    13
See reviews for
79
54
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, FL
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The Grand Summit is primarily a ski location but we visited in the summer and there was enough to do on site and in the surrounding area to keep us busy or just allow a relaxing stay. Check=in and out were very efficient. The staff were at all times very friendly and accommodating. The grounds were well maintained although not exceptionally decorated. There are three lifts to the top adjacent to the resort. There is on site off the lobby a nice sit down restaurant called Harriman's and down the hall a deli with a good selection. They have the best in-house library I have seen in a resort. The pool and exercise area were very nice. The only ding I would give it is on the furnishings in our one bedroom suite. I would best describe them as adequate, functional, and durable but not overly aesthetic. Everything was clean and well-maintained but not really attractive or appealing to the eye. Check out my photos for many views of the entire complex.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William W, Assistant General Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Wow! you took some great pics of the hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time for putting them up on TripAdvisor for others to see. It sounds like you had a great time at the resort and out and about exploring our great community. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We exchanged our timeshare to spend time traveling in Southern Vermont. We found the Grand Summit an excellent base camp. We had some great days exploring Southern Vermont. They have an excellent deli which serves breakfast and lunch and a top notch restaurant that serves dinner onSummer weekends (Harrimans) We enjoyed the outdoor pool and hot tubs. There was also a steam room and sauna. The suites are small but efficient with a queen Murphy bed(comfortable) a sofa, small kitchen and bathroom with split sinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William W, Assistant General Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your trip to the "Ski Lodge in the Summer". Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to host your next trip that you make to the Green Mountain State.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place photographs way better than it looks in person. Grand Summit is by no means luxurious. When I first arrived I noticed the sad interior paint job, old frumpy couches and hideous check-in area. There were holes in the walls (one was haphazardly spackled at some point) and the carpet looked dingy and dirty (in their defense it was replaced during our stay, but then that made a mess that you had to walk thru for a whole day). The first room we got looked nothing like the pics and it smelled awful. We immediately asked for a different room and were informed that it would be hours before we could have a new room. Mind you, the hotel was pretty empty as far as we could tell. The woman working the front desk made apathy look ambitious and it took some arguing on my husband's part to get a new room. We finally got a new room, and it was a much nicer lofted room and most importantly it did not stink. The lofted room was spacious and nice, with a kitchenette. Again, it was nice but nothing special. If you must stay here, ask for the lofted rooms on the third floor.

We could see the heated outdoor pool from our room and were excited to check it out. All I can say is, EW. The pool and spa were dirty. Thank god children are oblivious to dirty pools. I let my child play as long as I could stomach it, but all I wanted to do was scrub myself with a wire brush after having been in the pool/hot tub. The sauna was actually ok, but not particularly warm.

The restaurant, which bills itself as "farm to table" was a hot mess and the worst part of the hotel. I don't care about the provenance of the food if it is generic and bland. The service was very spotty, the food very expensive and not particularly tasty. The breakfast buffet in the morning was spectacularly awful. It was located outside of the restaurant. Why? I have no idea. Not only was the food in the buffet terrible (the breakfast potatoes still make me shudder) but you had to come back into the restaurant balancing your plates while opening a door. Not once did I see the wait staff try to open doors for people. And no a la carte option for breakfast, so yeah. Eat at the Deli at the other side of the hotel, it was pretty decent.

The main perk of this hotel is that it is at the bottom of the mountain. So, when you're done skiing you can ski straight down to the ski valet. That part was really nice. There was never a line and the valet attendants were very nice.

This place is a time-share and I think that most people bring ten people and pile into their condos. So, don't expect a luxe feel here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William W, Assistant General Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. We are saddened to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations, and that we fell short of the mark in providing you a quality guest experience. Your comments will be brought up at our next lodging meeting and we will work diligently to correct these issues. We will work hard in order to correct the problems that you had within our resort, both guest service & facility related, and do hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had been trying to exchange into this resort with my timeshare week for quite a while. It was worth the wait. Easy to get to. Valet parking. Cars returned freshly rinsed! Easy and fast check in. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a CLEAN two bedroom for four people with about 800 sq ft. of living space. Loft had private bathroom and plenty of closet space. VERY comfortable beds! Kitchenette was adequate for our needs.This is a ski in/out with ski valet. Fantastic mountain for skiing. Well groomed. Easter week was slow so no lift lines. Restaurants on site were very good. Loved Cousins for lunch. Hot tub apres ski was enjoyable.
Some really good restaurants in town. 1846 Tavern was excellent. Nonnas at The Sawmill also great. Sticky Fingers Bakery had the best blueberry muffins I ever tasted. Not much else to do in town. Wilmington is nearby with some stores. Manchester Outlet Mall was worth the trip probably because it was the beginning of April and there were some bargains to be had.
All in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable vacation and I would gladly return earlier in the season for more skiing!

Room Tip: ask for mountainside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William W, Assistant General Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that we were "worth the wait" and that you were able to enjoy alot of what the local area has to offer. The ski conditions were stellar this spring and we are happy that you were able to take in a few last runs with us. We hope to see you again next ski season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My room was comfortable, quiet, and clean, although by no means deluxe. I was attending an event during weekdays. An adequate dinner was served in the dining room, and sandwiches and salads could be purchased in an onsite shop for lunch. Because of its location, a car for transportation is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William W, Assistant General Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your meals & lodging accomodations and look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Summit from 3/22/13-3/24/13. The resort hotel is beautiful. The studio we were in was perfectly clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent! They helped make things easy. We did not use all the amenities because we were really there to ski. However, if you were to stay here with non skiers it looks like between the gorgeous little areas to sit and enjoy the fire or views, the hotel amenities,area restaurants and shopping, there is something for most people! For us the skiing was fantastic- the ski check was so convenient! Just ski down toward the main base and right to the ski check. We found it convenient to come in and have lunch on Sat. when it was really crowded at the main lodge.
They even packed my car at the end of our visit so I could go off and ski with my husband. One little tip is to understand they can be very busy at check out time so plan on some time for valet help. We really enjoyed our stay here. We are very likely to return!!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. The studio has a little kitchen which we found very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William W, Assistant General Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Happy Belated Birthday! Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time out of your day to review your recent ski vacation with us. Ski check is a really great amenity that we have and we are glad that you found it so convenient. Our staff and I really enjoyed having you and we look forward to hosting your next ski getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow

Address: 89 Grand Summit Way, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escaping to a world of complete relaxation and exhilaration to fulfill your next great adventure craving has never been easier than visiting the Mount Snow Grand Summit Resort Hotel. Located in the renowned Green Mountains our idyllic, year-round resort is an incomparable staging ground for your outdoor vacation activities with family, or for a romantic getaway. We offer guests just about every amenity imaginable so there is truly something for everyone. This is in part why we’re fast becoming a leading wedding and conference destination. Let us help you begin your Grand Vermont adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Hotel
Summit West Dover
West Dover Summit
Grand Summit West Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.