We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hermitage Inn
Save
You added The Hermitage Inn to your Saves list
25 Handle Road, Dover, VT 05356   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Dover B&B and Inns
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I dropped in on the forth of July with the intention of having dinner, which we had heard was amazing (it was!). Rebecca could not have been more accommodating. She arranged for us to stay in the Birch room the first night and McGovern room the next (due to a previous booking). Both rooms were amazing. Clean, adorable, comfortable. The McGovern was definitely a little less quiet (Rebecca had told us as much), but it was a Friday night with the delicious restaurant and bar below us. Food and service were amazing despite a large influx of people that had been sent there from various restaurants in town due to power outage in area ( have a generator there). Breakfast with Rachel on Friday morning was also enjoyable. We took advantage of the Giant mountain bikes on the premise. Grounds were breath taking. Really a no brainer when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    15
    6
    8
    9
See reviews for
11
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

So, after the rave review I left here last time, we went back shortly thereafter and had a completely different experience! Unfortunately, you can't leave another review on TA for a while-

This time we stayed in the carriage house. Lovely room, until night came along. People partying, very loud, until two and three in the morning- we had to keep calling security. The restaurant was a huge chaotic foolish mess- not like back in the day, when it was formal and dining was a lovely experience at the Hermitage. I'm still not sure who actually waited on us.

I've never had such two completely different experiences t the same place, but I can say that I'm NOT going back.

Room Tip: Don't go into the carriage house unless you've rented the entire pace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stumbled upon the Hermitage on our honeymoon tour through VT. We were impressed with the beautiful grounds, trail network, and incredible dinner. The Hermitage was quiet, relaxing and luxurious. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stumbled on to this paradise after leaving the nearby Inn at Sawmill Farm where we had planned on staying. The Hermitage has all the charm and beauty of a traditional inn WITH modern amenities which were sorely lacking at the dated Inn at Sawmill Farms. The staff are enthusiastic and welcoming. The restaurant is excellent and I highly recommend the delicious homemade ice cream. I will definitely return here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I absolutely love this Inn and can't wait to return. As did others, we got this deal through LivingSocial. The Inn allowed us to use the voucher on Memorial Day weekend which is a blocked weekend for most places so that was a big plus for us. The staff was very friendly, and their responses to our requests for the most part were instantaneous. The bartenders were phenomenal - very friendly, outgoing and quick to attend to us. So much so that although we had originally made reservations to eat in the formal dining room on our second night of the stay, we cancelled the reservation because we had such a great time the first night eating dinner at the bar we decided to eat there again on night two. We spent the second night chatting with the bartender Courtney and with another couple sitting at the bar. You can order from both the pub menu and the dining room menu which is a plus. There was live music both nights, acoustic guitar and a couple of singers. Very nice, not so loud that you couldn't have a conversation. The food was amazing!! Dinner the first night was a VT cheese board appetizer shared, pork schnitzel with papaya, arugula and jalapenos, and roast pheasant with sides, and the second night we had rabbit sausage pizza, kale salad with shrimp, and a filet cooked to perfection. The prices are at the high end of the scale for both food and wine. We each had two glasses of wine with dinner and both nights the meal tab was over $200. The next visit we will eat at the Inn one night for dinner and find other places that are not so pricey for breakfast and other meals. Even breakfast was expensive - $8 for a bowl of oatmeal? No continental breakfast option available so it is a full meal or nothing.

The Deerfield room was beautiful with a big comfy king size bed, a gas fireplace and a gorgeous bathroom, and even though there were occupied rooms close to us, it was very quiet. There was great detail and thought put into appointing the rooms and they did not scrimp on the quality of anything from the bathroom fixtures to the wall art. Upon arrival we were provided a bottle of wine, 4 amazing chocolate truffles and a cd of classical music. Nice touch! The game room and fitness center, although small, were tastefully decorated, and the hot tub is in an enclosure that has you inside, but also outside at the same time if you choose to be. There is also a steam room and all sorts of outdoor equipment available to guests and on-premise massage which we did not have.

So... the reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is mostly nitpicking, but they were things that could've been easily rectified so I feel its worth a one star decrease. The first thing I noticed when I walked in the room was a large tear in the seam of the bedskirt. Also, one of the face clothes and one of the towels had many very noticeable large yellow stains on them. I will say the towels were amazing, large, thick and absorbent, but I don't want to see stains on something I'm going to use on my body. Next, I called to ask for a do not disturb placard for the door and was told one would be delivered right away. It never came. When I mentioned it the next day I was told that they normally mark the book that the guest does not want to be disturbed. That's fine, but please tell me this when I call, don't tell me it would be brought down shortly and then be left sitting waiting for something that was never coming. Their guest books references putting a placard on the door. Lastly, when we went to dinner on night two we asked that the room be made up (it wasn't done in the am at our request, hence the request for a do not disturb sign, but then it also wasn't done while we were out during the day) and we were told it would be done while we were at dinner, but when we got back to the room it hadn't been touched. That was disappointing. We had to request items we needed for morning and wait for them to bring them (which they did almost immediately) but it would've been nice to have returned to a nice clean room as expected.

Other than the few minor glitches, our stay was exceptional, and we will absolutely return again. Great Inn, great food, great staff, beautiful environment with the Inn providing plenty to do. It was wonderful!

Room Tip: The Wine Wing rooms are separated away from the main house although it is attached, and they are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I had an eventful few nights at The Hermitage Inn -- we bought a LivingSocial deal and used it towards a 3-night stay in March. We stayed in the Brook House and its king size bed, fireplace, and beautiful bathroom were more than we could have asked for! The room was decorated as a modern lodge and definitely had us "ooo"-ing and "aaah"-ing as we stepped inside -- especially the spacious bathroom and shower (two shower heads!). Also, because the Brook House is a bit isolated from the Main House, we definitely FELT like we were on a romantic getaway secluded in the mountains.

I've had my fair share of traveling and regardless of accommodations, the traveling experience is mainly dependent upon customer service and staff. You could stay in the most beautiful resort, hotel, or inn but the staff could "make or break" your entire stay. The Hermitage Inn's entire staff from Jessica at the front desk to the innkeeper to the restaurant staff are professionals in fulfilling the expectations of the Inn's clientele.

As the activities go, snowtubing and skiing is a must if your staying during the winter. They also offer snowmobiling. If you're a pro at skiing or snowboarding, Snow Mountain is less than 15 minutes away. For drinking and dining, the Inn's restaurant is better than some of Dover's own restaurants -- definitely make sure you eat a meal at the Inn!

As far as a winter getaway, you won't be disappointed with your stay at The Hermitage Inn. We had such a wonderful stay, we're planning on making another trip by the fall -- we hear they have great hiking trails!

Room Tip: I don't recommend the Main House if you're looking for a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sayville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked The Hermitage after purchasing a Living Social deal. The ride up from NY was very pretty and fairly easy. We stayed in the Main Inn which was done very nicely. Pub and restaurant downstairs. You look right onto the ski mountain and the staff is very nice. When we booked we had requested no to stay in the main inn because we were afraid it would be a bit noisy with the pub at night. The room we stayed in was very lovely and redone while keeping the Inn charm. It was a bit noisy at night with the pub until about 2AM. I am sure if we had stayed in the other rooms it would have been much more quiet. The food in the pub was great, awesome weather when we were there. The slopes seem like you rented the mountain for the day. If you see two to three other people the entire time you do a run that is a lot! We had an incident in the pub where an obviously pretentious fool was mouthing off to the very nice and sweet waiter. The patron was the rotten apple since we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would head there again. The horses were great, we fed them carrots. We also rented skidoos and tooled around their trails which are beautiful as well. Recommend a visit in the winter when you can take a few runs on the mountain and head back to enjoy s'mores by the fire outside the Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Inn

Address: 25 Handle Road, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermitage Inn captures a time in Vermont's history, allowing you to relax and rejuvenate in a luxuriously renovated Country Inn. Surrounded by the Green Mountain National Forest, we are privileged to be home to some of the most attractive and beautiful settings Vermont has to offer. Whether you are visiting us during the splendor of snow, the vibrant colors of fall, the beauty of summer, or the awakening of spring, you will be able to enjoy all the Inn has to offer. Embark on a snowshoe tour or hike on our trails, relax in our sauna after a vigorous cross-country ski outing, or enjoy a rousing game of pool in our game room. Fly-fish from the edge of our stocked pond on a crips autumn morning, or relax and lose yourself in your favorite book in our serene apple orchard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.