We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary food; questionable waitstaff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TC's Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
TC's Family Restaurant
Rt 100, Dover, VT 05356
(802) 464-5900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Dover
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ordinary food; questionable waitstaff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had stopped at this restaurant 4 years ago and one in our party has raved over the ribs ever since. On this trip we had to try it again. The ribs this time around were tasty but dry, and nothing “award winning” about them. I had shrimp scampi which was very good. We were there on a Monday night, at one point the only ones in the place, and while waiting for our meal 1 person came in, looked around and after waiting several minutes the waitress never appeared so he left. Same thing happened a few minutes later with a couple, so these are people the restaurant lost by an inattentive waitress. Fortunately they were running a ½ price entrée special so that was a plus. There’s a for sale sign out front so don’t know how much longer they’ll be around. Other places in the area that are better, such as Dover Forge just up the road.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Passed by this place many times so we finally stopped in for dinner. Let's say we were underwhelmed. The decor has a cozy, well worn feel. The service on our visit was cheerful and attentive, but the food was eh. I ordered a rare burger and received an unremarkable slab of meat dwarfed by the bun and cooked to almost medium. Wife had a fish dish that was dry and overcooked.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Restaurant with Olympic Medalist History”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Regular, reasonably priced venue for good dinner fare.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fun atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Good food for families. The porch was a fun place to sit with lots of great skiing and snow boarding memorabelia.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very cozy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

TC's was a very cozy restaurant! We sat on "The Porch" overlooking the stream. It was snowing while we were there so it made it extra special! The food was good, as was the service.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TC's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to TC's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TC's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.