We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Royal Diner

Chelsea Royal Diner
487 Marlboro Rd., West Brattleboro, VT 05301
802-254-8399
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great new find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We go to Vermont all the time and usually stop at the same places for dinner. However we stumbled upon this diner and it's our new favorite! Everything is local and homemade, the staff is super nice too. Love it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    40
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Meal as Always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stopped in for breakfast as always when going through Brattleboro and was seated right away which was lucky for as soon as we sat down it became busy like it usually is on the weekend. Even though restaurant was full the service was prompt and we received our meals in no-time. The only complain I had was that the portion of Corned Beef Hash was a bit on the small side this time and my younger brother who was with us noted that he too had had a few meals where he felt like the portions were a bit smaller than usual. This could just be an anomaly which I hope it is. It will not dissuade me from going back though in any way! The Diner is always worth a stop if you are in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas MA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Mom's Meatloaf is better than Mine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is my husband's favorite place to eat. Too bad it's 2 hours away but at least once a year we take the drive up there to eat so my husband can get Mom's Meatloaf. We make a joke out of it as on the way up I'll say "What's your mouth watering for" & he'll say "liver & onions" but of course he gets the Mom's meatloaf. He's never tried anything else. Unfortunately we are always too stuffed to try any of the desserts but they also look great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Chelsea offers unique meals for a diner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

When we drive to Maine, first through Bennington, then Rt. 9 east to Brattleboro, we always stop here for breakfast and then again for lunch on our return trip. They've managed to offer menu items above and beyond the usual breakfast fare, although they have that too. They are committed to fresh, locally produced products whenever possible which is a plus. Physically challenged travelers will be happy to know they have an entrance ramp, easily accessible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Diner - don't drive by without stopping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We drove past this diner a hundred times before stopping in for the first time! A co-worker clued us in on it's great food, and I'm sorry we didn't stop sooner. The Blue Plate Specials vary by the day, are always awesome, and always include a free soup or salad. Our favorite is the New England Boiled Dinner (corned beef and cabbage), and the Turkey Dinner. Heard that the grass fed beef burgers are great, as is Mexican night. And don't forget to visit the restroom - it's an experience in art not to be missed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea Royal Diner also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Royal Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Royal Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.