We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smiling service and incredible dessert.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Royal Diner

Chelsea Royal Diner
487 Marlboro Rd., West Brattleboro, VT 05301
802-254-8399
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smiling service and incredible dessert.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We ate there on the recommendation of Roadfood.com, and we weren't disappointed. My chicken stew was clearly homemade, with nice warm biscuits on the side. The real stars of the meal, though, were the amazing fresh strawberry crepes for dessert. Service was super friendly throughout.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun and good food too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had dinner there recently with a group of friends. Beers were cold, waitress was fun, food was served fresh, hot and flavorful. Chelsea Royal was a great choice for a hot and delicious meal with friends on the go on a cold night in Vermont.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We found this on a cold New Year's day and were delighted with the welcome, the food, the service and the whole 'authentic diner' experience. There were seven of us (three little ones) and everybody's meal was delicious - as were the waffles and maple syrup and coffee (de rigeur, you might say).

Would go out of my way to go back there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An honest local”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Gaving lived in Brattleboro and surrounding towns for my whole life I am as local as local gets. From a real local, let me just say, THIS PLACE IS DISGUSTING! Grimey, overrated, overpriced, bland, greasy food with reprehensible service. The waitstaff will make the already dismal experience all the worse. I dont eat there and I won't eat there. Please do not allow this dump to become your representation of the local food scene. Its a stain on the roadmap of Vermont. I've eaten there a handfull of times and every single time is just as shameful as the last. I'm sorry to anyone who is lead here by a local, frankly they did you wrong.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Breakfast Lunch Dinner Always Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have eaten at the Chelsea Royal Diner for breakfast, lunch and for dinner and always excellent. They have quality food at a reasonable prices. Many great choices but excellent burgers, fresh seafood and good coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea Royal Diner also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Royal Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Royal Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.