We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diner Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Royal Diner

Chelsea Royal Diner
487 Marlboro Rd., West Brattleboro, VT 05301
802-254-8399
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Diner Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

While in Brattleboro on business, I came by for an early breakfast. It has great classic diner food, good service, and is an interestling hangout for locals. Well worth the 5-6 mile drive out of town for breakfast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    57
    35
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We happened upon this awesome diner on a road trip. So happy we did! The good was fresh and tasty. The service and atmosphere were great. Try the bottled, black cherry soda...you won't be disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“For Locals Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stopped for a quick dinner last week, as this diner appears to always be crowded when we drive by. Well to start off, this diner is a step back in time. This is not a place for out of towners, it was filled with locals as everyone knew everyone. I won’t be surprised if Town meetings were held here. But anyway to start off with the menu had dried food on it, as did the floor. The place is old and dirty. The menu is broad, with many items. We had a large crowd, so we ended up with a variety of food at our table. Service was good, our waitress was very nice and the food came out hot and quick. All of the food was surprisingly good; recommend the chicken wings and onion rings. No complaints from anyone in the party. Will probably not be back, but if your desperate, you can get a decent meal at a reasonable price at the Royal Diner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A place you can count on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We've stopped here on and off for a number of years and have always had a good meal at a fair price. Great place for breakfast, convenient on route 9, west of I-91. Food is great, and service is good, with a little Vermont humor likely to be thrown in at no extra charge. (Some folks may not appreciate that, though.) Decor? This is a country diner that has been in business for decades, and that's part of charm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cleanliness is not Godliness here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Sticky menus, Ketchup Bottles are gross. The Jelly dish is not sanitary, as it is passed from table to table with the same spoon. Who knows where other people's hands have been?! Ew. Otherwise the food is actually good though if you can handle the small old school diner experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea Royal Diner also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Royal Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Royal Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.