We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food, views and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hen of The Wood

Hen of The Wood
92 Stowe St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1116
802-244-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Waterbury
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food, views and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We went here for our anniversary. We made the reservations online about a month in advance. I was even able to put a note about what sort of occasion it was and they wished us a happy anniversary when we arrived. We sat facing the waterfall that is beautifully lit at night. Amazing atmosphere and very romantic. The food is some of the best in Vermont. This is a new favorite place for any occasion now.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    31
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“What has happened?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We have been here many times and enjoyed the meals very much. After telling my sister-in-law how good it is we went. The surroundings are ok but dark. My brother-in-law couldn't read the menu! Asking the wait staff for a lite beer he got a CAN of Schlitz!! I was astounded and embarrassed. She ordered lamb, got two tiny chops. We ordered hanger steak which was tasty but WAY too small for two men. The only thing we took away from this was the house wine was decent. It's sad that once was really a pretty good place has gone to this! Really too bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Special Occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a first time visiting Hen of the Wood.We had heard great things about the restaurant and had read all the reviews. We knew you had to make reservations even on a Tuesday night. We actually drove over during the day to look at it and confirm the time from Stowe where we were staying. We were very impressed with the restaurant – it is an old Mill with a river and waterfalls in the back. We had an 8 PM reservation. We got there a few minutes early and were seated promptly.My wife ordered wine and we ordered dinner at the same time. We had a lot of problems with the waiter-he came back twice to confirm what we ordered. We received our appetizers promptly but the main entrées were not served until an hour later at 9:30 .The hostess Denise did a great job addressing the issue and apologized several times for the service problems .We really did like the restaurant .We will definitely return future despite the service last night. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Location with Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We dinned on a weekday. We found location of the restaurant was lovely. We sat on the edge of the dining room going out to the porch. It was very nice to have the breeze from the stream to thwart the heat of the kitchen. The place was busy, even do a Tuesday. I recommend making a reservation otherwise you'll be eating at 5 or 9pm.

The food itself was very delicious. My favorite was the zucchini fritters in a lovely honey drizzle. The special app of the night was a very rich spare rib that would have filled me up but since James ordered it he was ready for hanger steak as well. The cheese selection is wonderful with all local cheese. We tried the "verhampshire" and the van trapp "Oma". Both were a lovely semi soft/formed cheese. They serve it with a semisweet crisp. It is superb.

Definitely an enjoyable night on the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were wandering around Burlington on a sunny afternoon, and had just had a dozen overpriced oysters at the Ice House (17$/6). We decided to change venues, and ended up at the Hen of the Wood on Cherry Street. While the "buck a shuck" pulled us in, it was the ambiance, great service and curious menu items that kept us there.

We had a lovely 3 hour meal of small plates, tasting items from rabbit loin, to house-cured ham, to grilled octopus, and beef tartare. The piece de resistance was the cheese plate. We had the sage farm "sterling" which was the best cheese I ever had.

Reservations seem very difficult to obtain, but the walk-in access to the bar of the Burlington location was a winning formula.

After 7 beers, four dozen oysters, six small plates, desert and coffee, the bill totaled 177$. For two people, and 3 hours of food-entertainment, that was a good deal. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen of The Wood also viewed

 

Been to Hen of The Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hen of The Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.