We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location with Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hen of The Wood

Hen of The Wood
92 Stowe St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1116
802-244-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Waterbury
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Wolcott, Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Location with Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We dinned on a weekday. We found location of the restaurant was lovely. We sat on the edge of the dining room going out to the porch. It was very nice to have the breeze from the stream to thwart the heat of the kitchen. The place was busy, even do a Tuesday. I recommend making a reservation otherwise you'll be eating at 5 or 9pm.

The food itself was very delicious. My favorite was the zucchini fritters in a lovely honey drizzle. The special app of the night was a very rich spare rib that would have filled me up but since James ordered it he was ready for hanger steak as well. The cheese selection is wonderful with all local cheese. We tried the "verhampshire" and the van trapp "Oma". Both were a lovely semi soft/formed cheese. They serve it with a semisweet crisp. It is superb.

Definitely an enjoyable night on the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    30
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were wandering around Burlington on a sunny afternoon, and had just had a dozen overpriced oysters at the Ice House (17$/6). We decided to change venues, and ended up at the Hen of the Wood on Cherry Street. While the "buck a shuck" pulled us in, it was the ambiance, great service and curious menu items that kept us there.

We had a lovely 3 hour meal of small plates, tasting items from rabbit loin, to house-cured ham, to grilled octopus, and beef tartare. The piece de resistance was the cheese plate. We had the sage farm "sterling" which was the best cheese I ever had.

Reservations seem very difficult to obtain, but the walk-in access to the bar of the Burlington location was a winning formula.

After 7 beers, four dozen oysters, six small plates, desert and coffee, the bill totaled 177$. For two people, and 3 hours of food-entertainment, that was a good deal. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wanted to lick my plate clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was one of the best restaurant meals I have ever had. Everything is farm fresh, seasonal and wonderfully prepared. Started with the seasonal snap peas then had the ricotta crepes for an entree. Drinks and desserts also wonderful! This place is expensive and well worth the price if you are looking for a special meal in a romantic and lovely atmosphere. Be sure to check the waterfall in the back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a wonderful evening and dinner at Hen of The Wood. The whole experience was wonderful. I can't wait to go back. Next time we hope to sit outside and enjoy the waterfall.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbury, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What's hap"henned" to our favorite restaurant?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

History: I love this restaurant. I live five hours away but make the drive to eat here at least 8-10 times a year for the past eight years. I even have photos of their food hanging in my kitchen.
Have never had a bad thing to say about this restaurant and have savored every single bite of food. Until this evening! Have just returned from dinner and am sitting in my B&B. Spent $180 and am still hungry. Don't get me wrong. The food is still prepared very well but the dining experience is much less enjoyable. First of all.......$5 for bread and butter. Really? The bread you used to give us FOR FREE was much better and was FREE. Secondly, the portions are now much smaller. The fried oysters is a dish that hasn't changed in years except this evening the portion was at least half the size. The actual plates are smaller, too. YES we noticed. And the portions are smaller. Oxtail stew with cavatelli was excellent but WAY overpriced for the portion received. I studied faces of other diners as they were being served these small plates and I
believe most people were thinking the same thing I was. What used to be an exceptional evening of dining pleasure has now turned into an evening where I feel I am starting to be taken advantage of. I think the owners need to hire someone skilled in the hospitality business.
I will probably try the Burlington location but I may have to rethink my devotion to this restaurant. I guess all good things must come to an end. For those of you who don't mind being taken for granted my prediction is that it soon will be easier to get a reservation at Hen of The Wood. Ouch!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen of The Wood also viewed

 

Been to Hen of The Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hen of The Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.