We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-MA-ZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hen of The Wood

Hen of The Wood
92 Stowe St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1116
802-244-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Waterbury
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A-MA-ZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Every meals we ordered was simply incredible, every bites were an explosion of flavours! If you are a foodie you HAVE to go there! Also, the service was perfect. Definitely a top recommandation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    30
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do you have to be 'somebody'?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wed Aug 21: Have been here many times. The food is always special. And this was a special occasion. Not all tables are created equal. So I had requested a certain one (the Pit) when I made my reservations. Because it is comfortable for 6 or more. (we had 7)
My choice was also noted the day before when they called to confirm.
When we arrived I could see that the table was already taken (first seating of the day).
I pointed this out to the person handling seating and I said "I guess a mistake was made".
She said " Yup, I guess so but your food will taste the same." That was all.
Mistakes are made and even if it was so they could sit more people in that area ($$$) or it was "somebody" they had seated at my table (which appeared more likely than a mistake), an apology should have been offered.
And I would expect that when the Maitre' D showed up they would come over and offer an apology at least. And maybe even a free taste or something.
But no, none of that.
Food and table service was great, but maybe if we were somebody we would have gotten the table we reserved or a "sorry".
Bottom line: would be 4 or 5 stars without the "Tude"

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience in the Heart of Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Tucked away in Waterbury, Vermonr, this restaurant is routinely rated one of the top in the nation. A truly farm to table experience, the dishes here are innovative, fresh and delicious. My wife and I have been here around 4 times in the past 3 years and each meal has been different and sensational. My favorites include fried oysters (done differently each time we have been there), variations on locally caught fish and local beef dishes. The cheese plate options are numerous and also local. Desserts are creative and the wine selection is extensive. Our this visit, we had the Hen of the Wood Pinot noir which comes from the Anne Amie vineyards in the Willamette Valley.

The servers know the menu cold (even though it changes everyday). It is clear this restaurant has daily meetings and samplings on their menu to ensure their staff can properly describe the food items to the patrons. Servers are also knowledgeable on the wine and can easily recommend pairings that truly work. Pricing is in line with this type of restaurant.

All in all, Hen of the Wood has it all which is evidenced by the fact that reservations are scarcely available. If you have the chance to go, do not hesitate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is probably the best restaurant in Waterbury and surrounding towns. The food is thoughtfully, artfully and deliciously prepared. The ambiance is quaint and lovely --- lively but easily able to have a conversation over dinner. Don't miss this special restaurant!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite, unique, picturesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

In a grist mill, on a waterfall! Unique combinations of locally available veg, cheese, etc. Goat cheese gnocchi surprising and yummy. Small plates light and very very creative. MUCH better than most fare in northern NJ, for sure. Try the pot de chocolat!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen of The Wood also viewed

 

Been to Hen of The Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hen of The Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.