We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best brownie ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hen Bakery and Cafe

Red Hen Bakery and Cafe
961B U.S. Route 2, Waterbury, VT 05602
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Waterbury
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Best brownie ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The cayenne-flavored brownie and the peanut butter cookies were both fabulous. They also have an interesting collection of craft beer, ice cream, cheeses, etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The absolutely best bread which is a joy for your taste buds and a workout for your jaw. A fine assortment of artisanal Vermont products.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Has yet to disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My family and I have eaten at the Red Hen Baking Company for a couple years now. It's a little out of our way, so we stop only when we are going that direction and have time, but we've never been disappointed.

While the sandwich menu is fairly limited (5-6 sandwich options), what they do, they do well. The sandwiches are always warm and tasty, full of great, locally-sourced VT products. However, it's the pastries and loaves of bread that really shine here. Their croissants are light, flaky, and buttery - everything croissants should be! The cookies and other assorted baked sweets are tasty, too. The bread is outstanding (my personal favorite is the Cyrus Pringle); nice crisp crust that gives way to light, airy, tender bread underneath. There are a couple of interesting combinations as well (the Sprouternickel, which is basically a dense pumpernickel chock full of assorted sprouts and grains). All in all, lovely pastries and breads.

The atmosphere is nice as well, with lots of local products for sale on display. There's a piano in the corner that gets decent customer use, as well as a stack of games and toys for children of all ages (including those who are still young at heart). The seating is pleasantly grouped, although it's not super abundant, and there is free Wi-Fi as well.

There are a few negatives: the pricing is somewhat high for what you actually get when you order a sandwich (the sandwiches tend to be somewhat...delicate...). I have never left feeling completely full when I eat at the Red Hen, though depending on your outlook, this could be a positive. Also, if you hit the place during a weekend morning, it can be quite busy and table space may be limited. However, the negatives have not stopped me from enjoying the baking company, and I recommend it enthusiastically to friends and family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vermont Fresh...off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was traveling around the north central part of Vermont when I happened upon Red Hen Bakery. The smell of fresh baking bread that filled the air drew me in immediately. It is a local bakery, also serving cafe items. Classic vermont feel and welcoming atmosphere that will remind you of easy New England living.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would probably stop more often if the prices were not quite so high, especially the sandwiches and lunch items. The bread is priced competitively. Like the view of the bakery kitchen.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hen Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Red Hen Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hen Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.