We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alchemist Brewery

The Alchemist Brewery
35 Crossroad, Waterbury, VT 05676
802-244-7744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Waterbury
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alchemist Brewery is our new 15 barrel, small production brewery specializing in fresh, unfiltered IPAs. We are currently focused on brewing one beer perfectly: Heady Topper, our flagship Double IPA.
Duxbury, Vermont
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Although the brewery had to close to the public, the Kimmich's have made sure that there is plenty of Heady and Ouroboros available in town. A true gift. John and Jen are working hard to find a new retail spot nearby, so keep your ears open. It should be great! Meanwhile visit Waterbury's restaurants and pubs to get your Heady fill.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    21
    14
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Closed to the public but Great beers Ouroboros and Heady Topper.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Brewery is currently closed to the public. Alchemist beers are served in most of the great Waterbury Restaurants. Finding cans of Heady Topper to take home is a virtually impossibility as Demand so exceeds Supply it isn't even funny.....

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

One of the reasons my friends and I made the trip to Vermont was to come here and buy Heady Topper. It was nice being able to try it on tap and we got there shortly after they opened so we had no trouble buying a case. It was definitely worth our trip coming here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It's hard to imagine a place where all the product the make sellout in less than one day. When there was an announcement that they would no longer seek their beer from the current location, local hotels received cancelations! They will soon have another location, so that the enormous traffic created by their beer, can be better managed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“some really tasty beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The brewery is conveniently located in Waterbury, VT, the same town that has the Ben & Jerry's tour. We walked right in and bought a case of their amazing Heady Topper beer, and that was that. It is a really popular beer. We're lucky we got some from their HQ before their more recent close and plans for relocation.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Alchemist Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alchemist Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.