We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mecca for Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory

Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory
1281 Waterbury-Stowe Rd, Route 100, Waterbury, VT
+1 802-882-1240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Attractions in Waterbury
Type: Factory Tours, Food & Drink
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For all the euphoric flavors you can't get enough of – especially the ones you can't get in ordinary stores – nobody scoops Ben & Jerry's better than we do at our scoop shops.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mecca for Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've been wanting to do this tour for a few years so I was really excited to tour the B&J Factory in Waterbury, VT. We had to wait about 20 minutes or so for our tour -- it was a busy time of year obviously. The tour is broken down into three parts, a movie, the factory and the ice cream sampling room.

I was a bit disappointed that the factory portion really didn't show much in the way the ice cream was made. During that portion you get more information from the video running while your tour guide explains the ice cream making process.

Cute and you only need an hour for this. Every visitor gets one scoop sample and it's of whatever flavor they are dishing out, we got a yummy caramel ice cream, I certainly would never have ordered it, but it was very tasty.

Great corporate responsibility and commitment to fresh, wholesome ingredients.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    462
    266
    108
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always a fun stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The tour and movie are enjoyable. The free ice cream at the end is great. Liked it even more when it was free and I think $4 is a little much Unilever. Oh well big company but still a fun thing to do in VT

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virum
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great ice cream. Hyped tour.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Ben & Jerrys ice cream is great. The tour is interesting although hyped. The elevator is called the vanillavator. Quaint. Interesting to taste the experimental ice cream at the end of the tour. The visit is definitely not worth a trip. The ice cream you can get in their many shops as well. Stop by only if you're in the area anyway.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for the kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I visited with my girlfriend and though it was a nice day, and the premises is very nice, it's very geared towards kids. If I were a parent who was visiting with his young kids I might say it was amazing, but as a young male with his girlfriend it wasn't really the best way to spend part of an afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family fun, must visit for ice cream junkies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

BJICF is a staple of Vermont and must visit if in the area, but plan other sights to see along the way (Especially Stowe!!!). The tour was $4, well worth an hour of entertainment and a good history lesson on Ben & Jerry. The ice cream tasting was great, but don't plan on free all you can eat. There are some fun activities like do it yourself tie-dye t-shirts, spin art and other family activities.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory also viewed

 

Been to Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.