We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very insightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory

Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory
1281 Waterbury-Stowe Rd, Route 100, Waterbury, VT
+1 802-882-1240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Waterbury
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For all the euphoric flavors you can't get enough of – especially the ones you can't get in ordinary stores – nobody scoops Ben & Jerry's better than we do at our scoop shops.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“very insightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

a really worthwhile stop on our tour of New England to learn the history of Ben and Jerrys, and to sample a flavour.
Great for the kids!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    492
    281
    108
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a big attraction, but sort of fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The "tour" was sort of fun, but no big deal: First your guide leads you to a small theater to watch a brief humorous film about the history of Ben & Jerrys. Then on to look through a big window overlooking the "factory", where several people were mostly standing around as long as the machines were doing their thing without a hitch. Finally you are served a sample of an experimental flavor at the end. Cute "flavor graveyard" next to the upper parking lot, which was a bit of fun, documenting the "lives" of flavors that turned out to be duds.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The tour was not long but it was fun to see the factory and sample one of the latest flavors. They also had a gift shop and a scoop shop (for a full-sized sample ;) ). The Flavor Graveyard was fun to explore...you wonder how they even thought of some of those flavors!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We took the tour that told us about the history of Ben & Jerry's and how the ice cream is made. The best part is at the end when you get to sample the ice cream. We then went to the ice cream shop and had some delicious ice cream. A fun way to spend an hour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun and Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Enjoyed the tour and the buttercup sample was amazing. Also check out the graveyard of retired flavors

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory also viewed

 

Been to Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.