We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insert "uncommon" pun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Common Man

The Common Man
3209 German Flats Road, Sugarbush, Warren, VT 05674
+1 802-583-2800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Warren
Price range: $20 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Common Man Restaurant is located in Warren, Vermont, in the heart of Mad River Valley, between Lincoln Peak and Mount Ellen. Sited in a 19th century barn, the dining room is elegant in its simplicity. With hand-hewn beams framing an open hearth fireplace, the 100-seat restaurant is inviting and intimate. Since the original owners, the Orsini family, opened their doors in the 1960s, 3209 German Flats Road has been a popular place for locals, visitors, and skiers to gather for a quality Vermont dining experience. Now in its fourth generation of operation, the current owners, Chef Adam Longworth and Lorien Wroten, are working hard to re-energize this Vermont dining institution with small town hospitality and world class cuisine.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Insert "uncommon" pun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a great building and atmosphere. Food was very very good. For a special meal in a special setting--loved Xmas 2012 here by the fire on great wooden table under the rafters. Will be back this Xmas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    47
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Common Man is a rustic warm cozy place. Our waitress was very soft spoken and very polite. We learned from traveling in this area, that all the restaurants serve an enormous amount of food. We would split the orders and still have plenty. We started with the carrot soup. It was unbelievably good. I had the pappardelle and it was delicious. Then the best was the chocolate cake. I will definitely go back when we return to this area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unfriendly service and overpriced menu.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The waitress was unattentive and the food while fresh and tasty was highly overpriced. The portions were miniscule. You are seated in a big room with many tables so it is very noisy. This restaurant is highly overrated.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Best Meal of the Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Common Man did not disappoint -- this was our second time there and I had the best Halibut dinner that I've every had.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the service was extremely slow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Outstanding food + rustic ambiance= wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a long day site seeing it took a fair amount of encouragement from my husband to track down this highly recommended restaurant, which ultimately provided us with the best dining experience of a week's worth of wining and dining throughout Vermont. There are no words to adequately describe the deconstructed egggplant- yes, eggplant- dish. Absolutely sublime, as was also the case with the shiitake mushroom soup and rigatoni. Bon Appetit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Common Man also viewed

 

Been to The Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Common Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.