We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Common Man

The Common Man
3209 German Flats Road, Sugarbush, Warren, VT 05674
+1 802-583-2800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Warren
Price range: $20 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Common Man Restaurant is located in Warren, Vermont, in the heart of Mad River Valley, between Lincoln Peak and Mount Ellen. Sited in a 19th century barn, the dining room is elegant in its simplicity. With hand-hewn beams framing an open hearth fireplace, the 100-seat restaurant is inviting and intimate. Since the original owners, the Orsini family, opened their doors in the 1960s, 3209 German Flats Road has been a popular place for locals, visitors, and skiers to gather for a quality Vermont dining experience. Now in its fourth generation of operation, the current owners, Chef Adam Longworth and Lorien Wroten, are working hard to re-energize this Vermont dining institution with small town hospitality and world class cuisine.
Delmar, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

After two nights of generally disappointing meals our group of 7 were looking for a great meal on our last night in the area. We were not disappointed. Several had the Halibut which was delicious and two had the eggplant which they raved about enthusiastically.
The service was attentive and efficient.
Considering how many local people recommended we go to this resteraunt I suspect you cannot go wrong.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    47
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach Island NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Common Man is anything but common !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Warren/Waitsfield area of Vermont in late September. The Common Man was recommended to us by several people, so we had dinner there on one of our two nights in the valley. The renovated barn with it's dark woods and lovely chandeliers made for a beautiful yet rustic atmosphere . Our server was attentive yet not overly so, and our dinners were just as we expected. It was a great evening overall. I would highly recommend The Common Man to anyone making a trip to the Sugarbush area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy place with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Common Man never disappoints. It is our favorite restaurant in the valley. In particular we like to go on Thursdays when a bistro menu is available, with just a few choices and $5 glass of wine, and we are sure to run into friends. But even then we always order something we cannot resist off the main menu. Yesterday I had the grilled octopus, my husband had the steak tartar and friends had the creamy, though made without cream, mushroom soup. Everything was delicious, the atmosphere cozy and the service friendly and inviting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Definitely the best in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Delicious! The chicken which is always served is excellent. We went in september so it was only a third full but didnt feel empty as it has such a warm atmosphere. Our server ( a fabulous australian lady) was helpful, knowledgeable and wonderfully friendly. Please go here, its brilliant and you will adore the food

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“27 years of this place; still goin strong...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since 1985 and the fare is about the same, consistent, well prepared American Cusine... Regional produce etc..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Common Man also viewed

 

Been to The Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Common Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.