We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest in Waitsville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Common Man

The Common Man
3209 German Flats Road, Sugarbush, Warren, VT 05674
+1 802-583-2800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Warren
Price range: $20 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Common Man Restaurant is located in Warren, Vermont, in the heart of Mad River Valley, between Lincoln Peak and Mount Ellen. Sited in a 19th century barn, the dining room is elegant in its simplicity. With hand-hewn beams framing an open hearth fireplace, the 100-seat restaurant is inviting and intimate. Since the original owners, the Orsini family, opened their doors in the 1960s, 3209 German Flats Road has been a popular place for locals, visitors, and skiers to gather for a quality Vermont dining experience. Now in its fourth generation of operation, the current owners, Chef Adam Longworth and Lorien Wroten, are working hard to re-energize this Vermont dining institution with small town hospitality and world class cuisine.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The finest in Waitsville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This 5 star restaurant had top notch cuisine, a great wine list and amazing service. Pricey but well worth it

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    47
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Uncommon (and that's a plus)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Recently spent a long (rainy) weekend in this area for foliage viewing. Based solely on reviews, this was our restaurant of choice our first night and it did not disappoint. Rustically charming. Surpringly upscale. Interesting and divesified menu. Good service with professional and amiable staff. Four of us had very different entrees and everyone thought they had made the best choice. Decent wine selection by the glass and the IPA that I had (can't remember the name) was the best I have ever had. Moderate to expensive and worth it. For the two other dinner meals that we had in area the restaurants didn't come close to this experience on any level. Frankly, our expectations were only moderate to acceptable. This exceeded all of our expectations. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is an old barn with a huge stone fireplace, chandeliers, excellent service and menu. Very cosy and romantic, sophisticated but laid back at the same time; an unusual combination. The food was incredible!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsfield, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rock Solid Quality Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Years go by, staff changes, owners come and owners go, yet somehow, this place manages to consistently put out a great plate of food. The atmosphere is tudor-barn, which is just perfect for the localvore dining experience and helps keep the stuffiness out of the air to boot.
I know the review guide asks us to write something we don't like, but I have been coming to this area for a long time and have yet to find something to complain about here!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dining in a rustic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What did we like? Everything. Dislikes-nothing. The service was good, and the food prep and presentation was awesome.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Common Man also viewed

 

Been to The Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Common Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.