We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1824 House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1824 House Inn
2150 Main St., Waitsfield, VT 05673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I just stayed at the Inn as we were skiing at Sugarbush over Presidents Day 2013. This place is fantastic!! Upon arriving we were upgraded for free to a nicer room as the guests in our booked room decided on an extra night. The Innkeepers are so warm and friendly, they greet you by name and make you feel welcomed. The rooms are all extremely clean and very well maintained. There is a ton of New England charm here. The food the food the food was absolutely fantastic (I said it three times for emphasis). The innkeepers got up early and moved breakfast to 7:30 AM so all the skiers could get to the mountain early. We were treated to wonderful almond cinnamon bread, fresh squeezed orange juice, and incredibly light and fluffy lemon ricotta pancakes. After a great stay and breakfast we were ready for skiing (Sugarbush is only 10 mins away). There's a good selection of restaurants around too. This place is an incredible location and value, the innkeepers are fantastic!!...we will be returning

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    12
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at 1824. The rooms were clean, well decorated and large. The food was fantastic and the in keepers were extremely friendly, which created a great environment for the guests. I highly recommend 1824 for a cozy stay during a trip to Vermont.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We got married in Waitsfield and every time we went up here to plan some aspect of the wedding we stayed at a different b&b. So, I would say we have an excellent idea of the other inns in the area. I am so pleased that we saved the 1824 House for last! It was an amazing experience for our wedding weekend- we stayed here 2 days before and 2 days after.
Sarah and Greg were amazingly helpful, from seeking craft brews in the area to recommending restaurants to cooking phenomenal breakfast and cookies (omg, their cookies....). I almost wanted to stay their on the wedding night instead of the other inn that we got married at!! It is cheaper than some of the other, fancier, options in the area and feels just as relaxing, if not more so.

Loved it here, when we come back to Waitsfield I am staying here for the clean, comfy rooms, the amazing food and the laid back, caring innkeepers. One of the best deals in the area!!

Room Tip: The wedding suite is incredible and only a few dollars more. It's more excluded with heated floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our weekend at this lovely inn was perfect. Sarah and Greg are totally delightful and go out of their way to make sure that all their guests have everything they could possibly need, from homemade chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon to dinner recommendations and reservations at terrific local spots. Fabulous breakfast - homemade granola, warm scones, fresh local eggs, french toast, pancakes (need we say more). The rooms are immaculate and there is a beautiful common living room with blazing fireplace, a very comfortable vibe for interacting among the guests.

Room Tip: Some rooms have more privacy and space than others. Sarah can help you choose one to fit your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend at 1824 House Inn. Greg and Sarah are wonderfully hospitable and very accommodating. Greg even cooked us breakfast before the normal breakfast hours since he saw we were planning to head to the mountain early. Always somethig freshly baked (and delicious) available for a snack, great breakfast, and clean, comfortable rooms. The accommodations themselves were excellent, but the innkeepers really made the difference. Would return in a heartbeat for a getaway for 2.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We love this area of Vermont and stayed here to escape our children and ski for a fabulous 48 hours and it couldn't have been better. Terrific food, laid back vibe, modern, comfortable, upscale but cozy rooms, and Sarah and Greg were the ultimate hosts. Can't wait to come back. I wanted to move in. Highly recommended.

Our unfortunate previous run of bizarre and awkward bed and breakfast experiences is over at last.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sarah and Greg are wonderfully hospitable. From cooking fresh donuts to providing recommendations on local restaurants, they made our stay a great one. They are good at what they do and I'd recommend the 1824 house to anyone looking to travel to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1824 House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1824 House Inn

Address: 2150 Main St., Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1824 House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 1824 House Inn to your Saves list