We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Trail friendly...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hyde Away Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hyde Away Inn
Save
You added The Hyde Away Inn to your Saves list
1428 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Long Trail friendly...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed over night after hiking a week on the Long Trail in October 2012. Great place. You can mail supplies for them to hold and they have hiking rates. It was gorgeous in the fall and the staff was extremely friendly. Would love to stay there again. The next morning thye dropped me off at the trailhead for my next section.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After driving 7 hours in the pouring rain, we arrived at the Hyde Away tired and hungry. Heading into the tavern for a bite to eat, we were instantly greeted by MK, who gave us a warm welcome and showed us where we would be spending our next few days at the Hyde House. A quick meal turned into amazing blackened salmon and shrimp wrapped in bacon entrees! We then headed to the Hyde House and felt at home immediately! The house was welcoming and we made a cozy fire in the living room! Staying at the Hyde house was a comfort and really gave us that Vermont feel! Waking up to 8 inches of snow in the morning was the cherry on top! The location was perfect, as we were just down the road from skiing. While we dined at several locations, we found ourselves returning to the Hyde Away tavern many times. Again, the food was delectable, the bartenders were awesome ( thanks MK and Bob!!), Margaret and the rest of the staff were always accommodating and the locals were fun, friendly and full of recommendations!! Thank you to everyone who helped make our Vermont stay even better than we anticipated!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed in 'W3' for a reasonable rate as it was midweek late in day. A clean room with plenty of hot water and a 'real' hair dryer provided. This room is on highway side with some road noise, but after 10 pm its fine, plus there is TV. My only problem was an alarm in the adjacent fireplace suite going off at 1:30 AM, not sure if it was smoke alarm or clock radio. Its helpful having breakfast here if you don't know area and want to arrive on slopes quickly. The dinners are really good here and bar has many selections.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had dinner with friends (and kids) one night and enjoyed it so much we went back another night after skiing. Good food, good beer and good atmosphere! Will definitely go back when in the area again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for six nights with our three Dogs and could not have asked for more. The room was fantastic, perfect location between Sugarbush, Mad River Glen and the town of Waitsfield. The Restaurant food was excellent (try the Meatloaf) and the bar was lively. One morning as I was taking the dogs out, Margaret (the owner) saw me thru the kitchen window and brought me a cup of coffee. That was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very charming hotel. Very close to sugarbush. dedicated and accomodating staff (especially Bob the bartender). Very fun bar to apres at and even better if your good at jenga. Breakfast is delicious if your up early & dinner was perfect every night we ate there. A definite must overall Enjoy!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Of its type - excellent. A little off the track out of town (which suits me fine).
It took a couple of minutes to track down staff and get keys to rooms which are outside and across the yard a-la motel. Rooms perfectly ok, on the smoky/rustic side. The log fire was ready built which was welcome.
Some rooms are at the road edge, Traffic isn't heavy which serves to exaggerate the few vehicles present.
Warm friendly bar, staff, and locals. Good beer. Menu available at the bar.
Restaurant more upmarket than the remainder, decent food and wine, friendly if haphazard service (all part of the charm).
Breakfast limited but cooked to order, Steve very friendly and informative directing us to some brilliant back-road views from up the hill. Thanks Steve.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hyde Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde Away Inn

Address: 1428 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, comfy Lodging with a rustic Tavern and Restaurant. Since 1987 we've been providing visitors and locals with a "place to come home to." We love what we do and hope that comes across to everyone who walks through our doors. Ten rooms - all different, offering spacious suites to couples and families and then bunk rooms over the bar. We serve food 7 nights from 4 pm until 10 pm offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers. One of the only places in the Valley with lodging, restaurant and tavern under one roof. We love it and hope you will too! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hyde Away Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.