We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hyde Away Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hyde Away Inn
Save
You added The Hyde Away Inn to your Saves list
1428 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Warren, Vermont
1 review
“welcoming and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The new menu looks great, ribs were awesome! Service was excellent, as usual !!. Skiing,hiking, biking,fishing and boating all near by. what more could you want?!
Would recommend to any and all, southerners and northerners alike!
Steve & Marge

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the new menu which will be changing every month or so. Highlighting seasonal offerings and guest requests. We certainly appreciate your business! Thanks, Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We did not stay at the Inn. My husband and I ate dinner at the restaurant. When the waitress noticed my southern accent, she suddenly became rude and even offensive. The bread and salads were great. The entree was less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We also appreciated you all taking the time to call us and talk to us about your experience. We have certainly listened and taken appropriate steps.

We are so disappointed that your experience was not what it should have been. As we said before, if you're in the area again, please let us know. Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hydeaway for 2 days because of its location for a cycling weekend. A few comments;

It took 3 phone calls to get them to send me a confirmation of my on-line reservation.

Upon arrival, I could find no one to show me my room until I wandered into the kitchen where the cooks assistant finally found the owner.

My wife and I had a small picnic lunch with one beer on a picnic table in the backyard. The bartender ran out and told me I was welcome to drink my beer in my room but not on his table.

The tapwater in the room smelled strongly of sulfur and was undrinkable and harsh to bathe in.
The bathtub drain was partially plugged.

Peeling paint in the bathroom and bedroom.

No one came to clean the room or make the bed.

While our ground floor room stayed cool our friends room in the attic was so hot they couldn't stay there during the day.

On Sat. afternoon having just lay down to take a nap the fire alarm goes off. No owner in sight, no way to turn it off. After several attempts to contact the owner and local fire department the volunteers show up and suggest that one of us pulled the alarm!

Did the owner apologize? No. He didn't even acknowledge that something had happened. And our reward for all this? Undercooked pancakes for breakfast.

I think the owner wants to concentrate on his bar business and he should because I thought this was a terrible way to treat a guest. It's a bit hard to find lodging in this area because many are not on the web. But there are better options for the $$.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are certainly disheartened that your stay with us was less than desirable.

Being a smaller, family owned property we try to do our best. We do not have a front desk. But you shouldn’t have had to wander around to find someone to help you. We have since posted a note for our first time guests as to where to go to check in.

We are sorry for the inconvenience of not being able to have your own beer in the backyard. Once our Restaurant is open at 4 pm- it is not legal to have outside beverages consumed in our licensed area.

It sounds like your room was a disappointment. You were in one of our smaller, less expensive rooms, which are slated for renovations. We will put that as more of a priority. Had we known of your dissatisfaction during your stay, we could have tried to rectify problems and also offered you our larger, upgraded rooms.

The accidental fire alarm was such an unfortunate incident. We are so sorry that our guests were bothered. We are so thankful that it was a false alarm. I am aware that our Manager spoke with members of your group on several occasions expressing apologies. The next morning when I addressed this, the focus shifted to your friend who had the biking accident and his well being.

Once again, we are so sorry for what seems to be so many mishaps during your stay. While we always welcome both positive and negative feedback, it is certainly disheartening to hear the negative. But we can assure you that we take all comments very seriously and try to work on our business so that everyone wants to come back and back.

Please feel free to give me a call if you have other thoughts and ideas (802-496-2322) Thank you, Bruce Hyde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Found this place via rough guide and tripadvisor. Only meant to stay for one night during a six night trip round New England. Stayed a second night as location, food, service and price all superb. Perfect place to explore the area from and the barman was very educational on baseball (but I still think it makes little sense and is just a version of rounders). Would definitely recommend and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The Hyde Away was a great place to stay. We brought our St. Bernard along with us to enjoy Vermont. We got the Fireplace room, and was shocked by how large the room was. Queen bed and bunks on one side of the room. We had 3 people and a huge dog, and all had plenty of room. The best part about this place is the restaurant attached to the inn. The food was AMAZING! Right down the road from Sugarbush and Mad River, you can't ask for more. We used a doggie day care place that came and picked our dog up before we headed out to the mountain, and dropped him off at the end of the day. Couldn't have asked for better service up at the Hyde Away. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Came up mid week to Stay in the Ulla Suite with two friends. Had and absolutely amazing time. I can't remember the last time I went to a place where you can sit down and have a beer with the owners. The room was great and could have slept more than just the three of us with ease. The food was top notch, and the free breakfast hit the spot! Thanks again and see y'all soon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here over New Years, and had a great time. The location is perfect, only about 5 minutes for Mad River and Sugarbush, and another 5 from town. The rooms could use a little updating, but it is made up for by the friendlyness of the owners and staff. Great apres ski bar too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hyde Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde Away Inn

Address: 1428 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, comfy Lodging with a rustic Tavern and Restaurant. Since 1987 we've been providing visitors and locals with a "place to come home to." We love what we do and hope that comes across to everyone who walks through our doors. Ten rooms - all different, offering spacious suites to couples and families and then bunk rooms over the bar. We serve food 7 nights from 4 pm until 10 pm offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers. One of the only places in the Valley with lodging, restaurant and tavern under one roof. We love it and hope you will too! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hyde Away Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.