We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed every day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mad River Inn
Save
You added Mad River Inn to your Saves list
Tremblay Rd. off Rte. 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
1 review
“enjoyed every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Mad River Inn, brought us back to basics. simplicity, best describes life. they serve with love and love to serve. we're looking forward to going back in the fall to have the greatest breakfast on the porch over looking the most magnificent landscape. the value of the service at Mad River Inn versus it's closeness to stowe and other ski resorts makes it a perfect place to stay. we had a great time and look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

It has been my pleasure to stay at the Mad River Inn on many occasions. In fact, I could not imagine staying anywhere else when visiting the Waitsfield, Vermont area. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very comfortable and immaculate. Luc, the owner and his wife Karen always make you feel welcomed. If you'd like a really special experience, be sure to take a trail ride at the Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm owned by Karen. Last but not least, is the delicious and plentiful gourmet breakfast that Luc serves. You never get up from the table hungry.

  • Liked — I enjoyed the entire experience.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

My wife and I were responsible for escorting our southern friends (2 couples born and raised in the south) for a 9 day tour of New England for a cultural and historic experience. We thought it would be something unique to spend a night at a bed and breakfast in Vermont. We chose The Mad River Inn from their website. We could not have been more pleased. The house was in a wonderful setting with very unique rooms. The breakfast of fresh fruit, homemade muffins and a German pancake were delicious. Luc (our host) and his family were a delightful group to spend time with.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Great food Luc (the host) suprises you every morning with amazing breakfast dishes we were there for one week and each day was something new, those muffins the smell of them backing and the fresh coffee. We had a beautiful room, the Inn is impecably clean. Theres a beautiful walk that goes for miles a five minute walk from the Inn and there were so many great restaurants that Luc recommended to us being it was our first visit. We also love riding horses and Icelandic Horse Farm is ten minutes away. I highly recomend The Mad River Inn and we will go back in the ski season. The Dubners Palm Beach Fla

  • Liked — Cleanliness/Food/Location
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

just got back from a long weekend at the mad river inn. house is beautiful. food really good. luc and his family very nice. room clean and roomy we had the hayden breeze room (king size bed) and tv. no blowdryer. but lovely. close to center town and covered bridges.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston,ON
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Let's start with breakfast....excellent coffee, super juice, tasty muffins, fresh fruit and WONDERFUL german pancakes all served on the east facing balcony. Luc is a good cook. The B&B was charming...clean hot tub, cool pooltable, comfortable seating areas, beautiful location. My only problem was the bed in the peach room..sinking mattress, we turned our pillows to face the headboard to get more comfortable. That is the one thing missing here. I would stay here again for the $115 room charge. We also did the horseback riding...well worth the $120 for 2 riders. Just make sure to show up early for riding...at least 10 minutes before you are set to ride! Luc is quiet but that is how I like my inn keepers!

  • Liked — the view and the food
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

My husband and I, along with my brother,his fiancee and another couple stayed at the Mad River Inn over Presidents weekend.

The inn is very comfortable and homey and definitely has the typical New England feel to it. The bedrooms were adequately sized, but the bathroom in our room not so spacious. We didn't spend a whole lot of time at the inn as we were skiing most of the day.

The basement is perfect for hanging out before heading out to dinner and the pool table added a bit of excitement. The Jacuzzi on the porch is very relaxing, but I would urge users to bring a robe as putting the cover on the tub after use you get very cold very quick.

Breakfast was quite tasty and filling, but my only recommendation to the innkeeper would be to include a side-table of cold cereals and options outside of the daily menu option (there is only one option per day). Picky eaters may be disappointed. The cookies that greated us each afternoon were a wonderful treat and helped stave off hunger until dinnertime.

The innkeeper was informative and efficient, but not overly friendly. If you are looking for a bubbly host, you most likely won't find it in Luc.

However, the prices (especially over a holiday weekend) were extremely attractive. All in, I'd say we had a terrific time and would most definitely return again next year.

  • Liked — Cozy, relaxing environment
  • Disliked — Not enough options or choices for breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mad River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Inn

Address: Tremblay Rd. off Rte. 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.