We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend 2/2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Featherbed Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Featherbed Inn
Save
You added Featherbed Inn to your Saves list
5864 Main Street, Rte 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
1 review
“Girls weekend 2/2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Recently nine of us stayed at the Featherbed for our annual girls winter weekend. This is our fourth year going to the Featherbed and Linda and Tom are the best. We were able to essentially rent the entire INN for our getaway. Many of us like to snowshoe and hike and there is ample opportunity right out the back door. The accommodations are immaculate and designed in a homey antique way. The beds are very comfortable because of the feathertop.

The breakfasts are out of this world...all homemade and delicious. There are always cookies and hot cocoa available. Very reasonable rates and the town of Waitsfield is very close to SugarBush and Mad River Glen. I highly recommend Linda and Tom's FeatherBed Inn. Its a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: My girlfriend and I stayed in the Beatrice Room. It has two double beds (one is in its own room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The featherbed inn is a great place to stay.I love the breakfast there.they have horses,cats and a donkey.They have a foosball table and some games.Linda makes great cookies and Tom makes great apple pies.

- Mia (8)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our stay at the Featherbed Inn was terrific. While we were there on a quiet weekend, Tom Gardner, one of the two owners, rolled out the red carpet with a wonderful breakfast, spacious rooms and "cloud-like" feather beds. Sneakers the cat was quite friendly and I would stay there again in a second.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our family was gathering for a wedding in Waitsfield and the Featherbed Inn was a recommended B&B. What a wonderful place to come and relax before and after the wedding. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming. I feel like Tom and Linda are family, especially when I sat in their kitchen drinking coffee and talking about Linda's trip to Arizona with her family. For those of you visiting, Tom bakes the most fabulous pies, one of which was taken to another family event by my nephew. I've never slept on a feather bed before and was surprised that it was the best night sleep I've had in months. I would highly recommend you experience this special place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Featherbed Inn, a bed and breakfast, was a charming and very peaceful experience. The rooms are all decorated in antiques and have fluffy European feather beds. There are horses, a pony and a donkey on the property. The couple were sweet who own Featherbed and include homemade breakfast early in the mornings.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

For my family's first time to be in a Bed and Breakfast place, Tom and Linda made this experience such a lovely one. We are used to staying in hotel rooms. So we were kind a skeptical at first. But this place is like home away from home. like visiting relatives. Tom and Linda are so welcoming and the moment we drove inside the property, we saw "Milo" this big black dog, warmed our hearts. I knew right away that this would be a pleasant experience. We stayed in their suite, so we had 2 rooms and had the bathroom just to ourselves. Tom and Linda, prepared the best pancake and the featherbed eggs are the best. The beds are so comfy and we really had good rests after driving 6 hours from New Jersey. We stayed for 2 nights and Tom suggested a place where we had a great water sports just in one place, like Canoe, Kayak, Paddle Board, Pedal boat and in such a beautiful scenery state park. There is a nice swimming hole that is just right across the featherbed inn too. But Tom knows where is the best swimming holes! You need to go there! Not only they gave us the cleanest and most comfortable room, warmest welcome, best breakfast, they also made my son happy coz Linda gave him a bag of chocolate powder that my son loved having during breakfast. I was willing to pay but Linda just gave it for free. For me, that was very kind of them! BTW, I should not forget about Sneakers who kept us company while we were watching movie in their lovely gazebo. I will definitely give them more than excellent, if there is any rating higher than 5, I will give them more! Thank you so much Tom and Linda, I know this is just your business but you treat your guests like your own family! More power and more guests to both of you! My only disappointment, I forgot to take a pix with Tom and Linda and of course with Milo and Sneakers!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

At the end of a long week, we enjoy packing a bag, jumping on the bike and taking off to destinations unknown. We love the back roads of Vermont and New Hampshire and most of the time, that's where our journey's take us. At the end of this ride, we pulled over to look for a place to stay - and discovered the Featherbed Inn.

We had no prior reservations and were fortunate that they had a room available.  We arrived only minutes after calling and met Linda as we pulled into the driveway. Linda greeted us as though we had been there many times before and was specifically waiting there for us to arrive.

The inn and our room was warm & inviting. Although it is mid-summer, we imagined ourselves sitting in front of the fireplace during a colder season. On this evening, we sat on the deck where we enjoyed a bottle of wine and gazed at the stars. We woke up the next morning to the smell of a delicious breakfast that we also enjoyed outside on the deck.

The price was reasonable - the inn was cozy - the room and bed were both inviting & comfortable, and Linda & Tom are both warm & friendly. We would absolutely return to enjoy again all that the Featherbed Inn has to offer.

Thank you Linda & Tom!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Featherbed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Featherbed Inn

Address: 5864 Main Street, Rte 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful landscape of the Mad River Valley is the Featherbed Inn,with 9 guest rooms all with real European featherbeds, nice sized rooms and individually decorated. Guests ski Sugarbush, Mt.Ellen Mad River Glen, snowshoe on property,cross-country ski,enjoy outdoor skating at the Skatium in downtown Waitsfield, then return to the warmth of our large field stone fireplace. Warmer months one can bike scenic Rte.100,hike the long trail or trail ride on Icelandic ponies, then marvel at the splendors of fall foliage.We extend to you a warm welcome and invite you to join us in the beauty of Vermont. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Featherbed Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.