We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location for riding and cruising the hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilder Farm Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Save
You added Wilder Farm Inn B&B to your Saves list
1460 Main Street, Waitsfield, VT 05673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“perfect location for riding and cruising the hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I spent a glorious few days in Waitsfield last September to ride the Icelandic horses (see review of that facility) and booked my stay here rather than at the Mad River Inn, associated with the horse farm.

Luke and Linda took care of me like perfect parents. I remember in the mornings when it was chilly still I would patter out to grab a hot coffee and Linda would chuckle ~ I suppose I sounded like a child run amok. But they were the most engaging and truly interested couple to preside over their inn and Luke's studio.

I will return one day and they will be my home away from home once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
97
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a charming place with gracious and warm hosts that is close to the area skiing spots. The whole experience there was wonderful and small details such as a cozy fire to come back to after skiing, helpful advise from the hosts, and delicious breakfasts in the morning made it a most enjoyable place to be. As other have noted, the talents of Luke as a potter that are on display at the inn make it feel warm and homey and watching him at the wheel was fun for us and our 10 year old daughter. The room we stayed in was quiet and stylishly decorated. We would definitely come back the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Linda and Luke are consummate hosts who have created a truly wonderful B&B experience. The place is magic. I read all the reviews here on tripadvisor before going and the kudos are well-deserved. We originally were thinking we would stay only the one night and ended up staying for three.. we didn't want to leave! Would love to go back some day:

- we stayed in the Cattail room: charming decor & super comfy bed.
- loved the fires both late afternoon and first thing in the morning in the breakfast room
- Linda and Luke were generous with info about the Mad River Valley area. Every suggestion we took them up on was fantastic.
- homecooked breakfasts were delicious & filling.
- loved checking out Luke's cool ceramic studio out back. Bought some great pieces!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The owners, Luke and Linda, have clearly given a lot of thought to the guest experience at Wilder Farm Inn. The small details, such as a fire ready to light when you get back from skiing, tea and biscotti available around the clock, and easily accessible wine openers and glassware, made us feel very much at home. The bed was very comfortable, the room was cozy, and the common areas were comfortable and spacious. We loved the many shelves of books to browse. Luke and Linda had great recommendations on places to go in the Mad River Valley, and it was great seeing Luke out on the slopes on one of the days we were there! We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: We took advantage of the midweek Tuesday/Wednesday night special, and thought it was a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Nothing risque about this B n B except the name. It is the best in the valley.

Food scrumptious. Skiing close by. Local food wholesome and tastey. Parking great.

Our hosts are as flexible as yoga masters and as hospitable as a Executive suites concierges.

5 minutes in the door--s'mores
5 minutes on the bed--zzzzz
5 minutes at breakfast ---mmmmm
See you this summer. Is there a loyalty card?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Back again for the annual moms and kids weekend. Another wonderful visit. The six of us used the Millbrook rooms and the River rooms which were perfect. Breakfasts delicious as always, afternoon snacks were amazing (brownies that are out of this world!). Relaxing in front of the fire after skiing is always so relaxing. At the inn we got discount vouchers for Bolton Valley, Luke made a dinner reservation for us at Mint (be sure to go there, you will not be sorry), and the kids (12, 12, 14, 14) had fun on the swing and the frozen pond. All in all another wonderful visit. My favorite B&B in the whole universe.

Room Tip: The back of the house rooms (Montgomery, Heritage) are quieter. Millbrook 1, 2 and River rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newburyport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just came back from a 3 night stay at Wilder Farm Inn. I brought my daughter (12), son (15) and his 15 year old friend. We chose a beautiful room that has a queen sized bed and 2 twins, which was just perfect for the 4 us! The Inn is so warm and cozy and beautifully decorated! The owners Luke and Linda were very welcoming and friendly, but also gave us our privacy. They serve homemade treats after a day out skiing, s'mores package that you can make at the fireplace, and the most delicious home made breakfasts. They also have delicious VT teas all day and night. In addition, the handmade pottery is used for your breakfast, snacks, tea. Luke has his own pottery gallery. We bought some pieces and they're just beautiful. We would definitely stay here again and they are located about 15 minutes from Sugarbush and Mad River Glen. Perfect Inn for people that appreciate great food and cozy atmosphere, not to mention the most comfortable beds! Also, Waitsfield is a really quaint area with great restaurants!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilder Farm Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilder Farm Inn B&B

Address: 1460 Main Street, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilder Farm Inn...where farm-fresh meets fashion-forward. We have made a conscious decision to create an atmosphere more appealing to today's traveler. With a relaxed vibe and some fresh decorating, it's apparent that grandma doesn't live here anymore. Gone are the days of doilies and old-time quilts. We have eight uniquely and individually decorated guestrooms which are sure to fit anyone's style. From country chic to hotel boutique, we're sure you'll find a room that's perfect for you! It's all about the food...from preparation to presentation, we take pride it what you eat. Breakfasts are freshly prepared with organic ingredients; some coming straight from our garden and others locally foraged. Our baked goods are made from scratch, and we offer a thoughtful menu featuring a creative culinary flare. What can be better?....it's served to you on Luke's handmade pottery.Our grounds are perfect for reading that book, enjoying a glass of wine, playing some bocce & horseshoes or even taking that well-deserved nap. Our property is also home to The Naked Potter Studio & Gallery, an 1840's post & beam lovingly built by the potter himself.Besides the obvious Vermont attractions, Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, Ben & Jerry's, the farmers' market, we love to share our local knowledge of those special hidden gems. We are passionate about making your stay exactly what you want it to be, whether its outdoor fun, fine dining, art, etc...we care.Come as Guests...Leave as Friends ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilder Farm Hotel Waitsfield
Wilder Farm Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilder Farm Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.