We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay, thank you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weathertop Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Weathertop Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Weathertop Mountain Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   755 Mill Brook Road (Route 17), Waitsfield, VT 05673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Inverness
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay, thank you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a very pleasant place to stay. We were visiting family near Middlebury during parents weekend at the height of leaf viewing season so finding a place to stay was a challenge. We decided to travel into the mountains to see the foliage and stay at the Weathertop Inn. The owners are really friendly and they make a great breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and lovely. And the two cats are entertaining. I wish they had a coffee pot in the room but we made do. Also it is too bad that the Inn is in the shadow of the mountain much of the day. But, the sunny disposition of Mike and Lisa made everything shine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    9
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

As frequent visitors to the Mad River Valley we have stayed in many local Inns and were very happy to discover the Weathertop this fall. Mike and Lisa are hands-on inn keepers with a gusto and pride in catering to guests. A boxy three story structure is the setting. A well-used scruffy staircase leads you to the reception level where the guests congregate for meals and is the heart of the Inn. Our modest room was tidy, clean with ample light fixtures and named in honor of Robert Frost and included his biography which we appreciated. The Weathertop Inn is fine for visitors wanting a laid back B&B well located to the MRValley, comfortable without frills, and above average in character for the price. Overall I would rate this Inn, in spite of the fact Trip Advisor scale goes from average to very good, this place deserves a "good" rating.

Room Tip: As the kitchen and dining room is on the same floor as the rooms, if you seek quiet I would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Weathertop Mountain Inn for one night in Early October. Everything about the stay was outstanding. We enjoyed some wine, the game room, the hot tub, and a great night sleep. Breakfast was very good and prompt. We would definitely recommend this Inn to friends and family.

Room Tip: Our room (Morgan) did not have blinds or curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeathertopMtnInn, Owner at Weathertop Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again for a longer visit. We would like to point out that all of our guest rooms are furnished with valence curtains and room darkening Levelor blinds. The hardware on the blinds is the same color as the window molding and is discreetly placed so as not to mar the view. We will explore how we can make the hardware a bit more visible so it not so easily overlooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When we went to stay this fall at the Weathertop Inn we were pleased to discover that Mike and Lisa give 150% to their clients. Every attention to detail was carefully considered. Their love of Asian culture is reflected throughout their magnificent Inn. Each private room is decorated beautifully and you instantly get a feeling of cleanliness. They are eager to make your stay with them special. I felt comfortable asking them about restaurants, stores, places to go etc... The a la carte breakfasts they provide are wonderful and they go beyond expectations when confronted with dietary limitations. Their primary focus is on providing healthy, nutritious and tasty meals with as much local produce as possible.
As a final note, we discovered that Mike has an extensive wine collection(which you can indulge in) of which he is very knowledgeable. All that said, thank you Mike and Lisa; we'll be back.

Sharon and Guy, Brockville, Ontario

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the inn have thebest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

28 aug-2 spt 2013

dearest Lisa, Michael, harley&violet,

a BiG thank you! for a lovely time
@weathertop inn...

a place away from ALL, but the best,
&most sincere of hosts,
gastric delights, and thoughtful, insighful,
well traveled clever appointments!

weathertop inn: a verdant refrain to the bustle of daily life!

we and ours will come again soon.
sincerely yours,
-harry&christine;-)

*cyclist 2013 'green mountain stage race'

Room Tip: weathertop inn, is not for everyone...rather for those who appreciate a simple, thoughtful, unprete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had to do a last minute change. We were pleasantly surprised with a beautiful, clean and very Vermont style Inn. Wonderful innkeepers with a great location. We all loved the breakfast and the dining area was perfect. A short trip down the road to all the attractions in Waitsfield.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

While traveling through New England with my wife and our young-adult daughter we decided to visit Vermont. I booked a last minute room (on a Friday night!) at Weathertop Mountain Inn and was not disappointed. The lodge has a variety of clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms. Most B&Bs are limited to one bed in a room and since there were three of us, finding the right facility was challenging. Not so for the Weathertop Mountain Inn. Our room had a queen and a twin. While the room was not overly large, there was plenty of space for our needs. The inn has queens, kings, combinations and suites--a whole array. We saw another family at breakfast who also took advantage of the flexible room configurations.

Second, the common spaces are large, open and enjoyable. The lodge has three floors plus a lower level. A hot tub and sauna room are on the bottom level, a dining room on the first, a large great room on the second and a library on the third. Each space was full of unusual treasures.

Third, Mike and Lisa were a wealth of knowledge about the varied dining options in the valley. We wanted something casual so we tried the recommended American Flatbread a mile or so down the road. The restaurant (the original of four American Flatbread locations) is located on a farm and has a community atmosphere. An annual art festival was taking place the weekend we were there. After securing drinks in the restaurant and putting our name on the table list (reservations are not accepted), we took our drinks to the 1895 barn and saw wonderful local art. Our name came up sooner than promised and we were then treated to a wonderful experience in the restaurant, located in a converted carriage house built in 1832. The primitive hearth bakes amazing flatbread prepared with farm-fresh local ingredients. The food is fabulous and the atmosphere is inviting.

After a great night's sleep at the inn, the next morning we had a fabulous breakfast. The aroma of bacon circulated throughout the inn. More local food. A choice of omlettes, oatmeal encrusted French toast and fabulous fluffy pancakes with fresh blueberries. Each breakfast was prepared to order by Mike and Lisa as guests arrived for breakfast..

We did not get to try it out, but Mike stocks an incredible array of wine at very reasonable prices. I am already looking forward to our next visit.

The inn is a great get-away spot for couples, a quiet retreat for singles and has a few rooms that accommodate families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Weathertop Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathertop Mountain Inn

Address: 755 Mill Brook Road (Route 17), Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Weathertop Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not your typical country inn…. Asian antiques & art, eclectic evening dining and an abundance of amenities enhance your Mad River Valley experience. Guests can expect thoughtful amenities and warm, attentive service from the resident innkeepers. Eight individually decorated guest rooms feature private baths, plush cotton towels, soft sheets, spa robes, & hair dryers. Relax in our great room, enjoy the hot tub & sauna, or venture to the game room for a bit more excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Weathertop Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weathertop Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.