We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Round Barn Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Round Barn Farm to your Saves list
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1661 E Warren Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Couldn't have been any better. Perfect setting, perfect service, perfect room (we stayed in the Abbot Suite, which was fabulous!). Based on what I saw on the internet about this Inn I was hoping/expecting 5 star service, and we did get exactly what was promised: a 5 star stay exceeding our expectations. Thank you Tim and Round Barn staff for an absolutely magnificent, relaxing stay! Hopefully we'll be able to see you again, ...February maybe?....!...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    25
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
187
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

One word answer: Spectacular! We recently stayed at the Round Barn Inn for our 17th wedding anniversary. The Inn & grounds are beautiful and extend a warm welcome to it's guests. A knowledgable & helpful staff and scrumptious goodies for both breakfast and afternoon snacks are huge bonuses. Our room was romantic and cozy and not a bad view from any window or doorway. The Round Barn was unique & a wonderful piece of architecture and history. Tim's recommendation for a nearby 9-Hole Golf Course offered us amazingly stunning views of the Valley and surrounding countryside. We were so sorry to leave at the end of our stay. We would love to return, maybe this winter for some skiing & snowshoeing with our 2 boys. Perhaps or perhaps not ;-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We had seen this inn on a previous trip and I decided to book it for a long weekend getaway. Our room was lovely -- windows all around, fireplace, cozy seating area. The rest of the inn was really well suited to settling in and relaxing. They offered all the little touches I would expect in a nice B&B. There was a rec room for guests with a pool table, game table, fridge stocked with cold drinks, etc. There was a formal parlor with plenty of seating. Each afternoon they put out snacks (meatballs, lemon squares, that sort of thing) and each morning there was coffee and tea service available before breakfast with a wide assortment of specialty teas. Breakfast was a mutli-course affair, well prepared and plentiful. They had the usual menus of local restaurants, but they also had sets of printed directions to hand out.

I would have rated the place higher for comfortable sleep, but the mattress and pillow were a bit more firm than I prefer. That said, my husband loved it, so you can't go by one person's preferences alone.

The hosts here are knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. In particular, if your interests are opera, cycling, or winter sports, they seem to have plenty of suggestions, route maps, event schedules, and other information.

I was very surprised to read the review that said there should have been newspapers and bottled water. I thought it was a nice touch *not* to offer bottled water since (a) their well water tasted terrific, and (b) bottled water is terrible for the environment in so many ways. I can't recall ever having a newspaper offered at a B&B, and I've stayed at many of them all over the country.

We are already planning a snowshoeing trip there this coming winter (assuming there is snow). I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

The round barn farm lives up to its reputation as a charming hideaway in the
Mad River Valley. Both the interior and exterior are breathtakingly
gorgeous, and the staff attend to every need with alacrity. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks are scrumptious, the rooms each individually beautifully decorated. My wife and I
plan on coming again and again--regardless of the season. We would give it ten stars if we could!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We were greeted by Kate who gave us a tour of the Inn. Afternoon cookies and 5:00 flatbread and sauteed fiddleheads awaited us. Nice tea assortment. Grounds were lovely with flowering bulbs aplenty. Walked along the many ponds and toured the wonderful barn with Charles. Breakfasts were wonderful!! Our room was lovely and the bed was comfy. This was our second stay here and we will certainly return. Everyone made us feel so welcome. Thanks!!! C&M

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Even before you arrive, they make you feel so welcome. Once you're there you just know you belong. It's like staying at the family home you once lived in.

Definitely a keeper at the top of our list.
We will be back!!

Frank & Pat P.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winooski, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is a great place. Luxurious without being stuffy. Loved the "dana" room with a stream shower, fireplace, and fluffy bed. Great breakfasts, warm cookies, fire in the fireplace. Every time we called to ask questions about our stay, the staff was friendly and responsive. I hope we get to go back.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Round Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Round Barn Farm

Address: 1661 E Warren Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Round Barn Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 245 acres of mountains, meadows, and ponds lies this romantic Vermont Inn, a four season vacation retreat for lovers of the arts, history and the outdoors. Friendly and caring Innkeepers at this Waitsfield VT Inn welcome you to enjoy all the comforts of home with none of the demands. Individually decorated guest rooms have been designed with attention to the details that matter. Come experience incredible hospitality at this lovely Warren bed and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Round Barn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Round Barn Farm Hotel Waitsfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Round Barn Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.