We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restful getaway surrounded by natures beauty.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Round Barn Farm

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Round Barn Farm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1661 E Warren Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restful getaway surrounded by natures beauty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My mother and I spent a belated mother's day week at the Round Barn June 2012 and adored it! Located in a secluded location, but convenient to several towns with good restaurants and "things to do." All of the guest rooms at the Inn were adorable and the common areas were so cozy you felt entirely comfortable sitting and reading in any of them.

One of our favorite things to do around the Inn was to enjoy their fresh baked cookies and huge selection of teas while sitting outside on patios and just enjoy the beautiful scenery. It really feels like you stepped back to a simpler slower paced time.

The afternoon hors d'oeuvres and daily breakfasts were extremely fresh and delicious, not to be missed! A gracious and accommodating staff made our trip a wonderful experience. We will definitely return! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: big lovely rooms. Ask for a fan if you are in the in-between season and it's warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceHurleyHollis, General Manager at The Inn at Round Barn Farm, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
I love looking back and seeing the reviews from past Spring months. I'm happy to report that Spring has officially sprung and it's BEAUTIFUL! We hope to see you again enjoying the peaceful terrace and gardens. Happy Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    21
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
166
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights on the Barn's winter package to ski and snowshoe. A good value deal it was too including Sugarbush and Mad River ski pass, a yoga session and trip to the cinema (excellent cafe adjoining it). In addition to agreeing with previous reviewers comments I would also add the staff responded promptly and with good humour to a problem we had and we were more than happy with the outcome. Breakfasts were certainly different to the norm and of very high quality but I do like good old fashioned eggs and bacon once in a while!
For dining we had a fantastic evening meal at the Pitcher Inn restaurant (thank you Ari), about a 10 minute drive away, and would recommend American Flatbread too. Jimmz was also excellent for pizzas with beer half the price of Flatbread!

The staff are wonderful and made our stay truly special and as for Cooper........

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The northeast does not often compare well, for skiing, with Europe, but with the unfavorable exchange rate and the uncertainty of the snow conditions, we decided to stay local. We were pleasantly surprised to find an area which we plan to return to.. not because the snow was great, but because the accommodation we found was beyond our expectation. The Inn at the Round Barn Farm is more than what we had hoped to find. From the coziness of the room and the common areas, to the welcoming of the staff (quite a lot of them for such a small place) to the scrumptious afternoon tea with cookies and then aperitif around the crackling fire. We loved it. Carefully planned and delicious breakfast was included, which is unusual these days. We loved everything about our stay there and we definitely will return, let alone for some snowshoeing with Cooper the in house black lab resident and guide. Who knows, we might never go back to Europe after that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I got married here in June 2009. We had been waiting to return but life got in the way... It was just as perfect as we remembered it on our wedding day. The location, food, and peace and quiet is what we came for originally but Anne Marie and Tim (and the rest of the staff) make this place the real gem that it is. Breakfasts are ridiculous (cottage cheese pancakes with raspberry maple syrup are my favorite), cookies at 3 pm and appetizer at 5 pm. Don't miss any of it! The Mad River Valley took quite a hit during last year's hurricane but it is still as beautiful as ever... places are open for business, ready and waiting. It's a great time to visit!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Inn at the Round Barn Farm last weekend and a wonderful experience. Everything from our gorgeous room (The Richardson Room) to the amazing food and staff exceeded our expectations. We spent the snowy weekend skiing and coming "home" to the cozy fireplace, jacuzzi, and skylights in our room was simply perfect. We did their "Farmhouse Dinner" Saturday night and each course was beautiful presented and absolutely delicious. The only "downfall" was that on occasion we could hear people/voices from the downstairs level in our room, but certainly nothing that was too distracting or disturbing. Kudo's to the entire staff as they are were very welcoming, friendly, helpful, and hardworking. We both had a wonderful weekend and stay at the Inn and we cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The Richardson room has an awesome rustic feel and includes skylights, a jacuzzi, and gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Inn at the Round Barn Farm is an absolutely outstanding B&B, and we highly, highly recommend it. The staff offers top-notch customer service and incredible attention to every single detail. Every aspect of our visit was flawless.

Our room was exceptional, with a queen-sized bed and beautiful chiffon canopy ... and a gas fireplace! The Inn itself is immaculate, everything was super clean and up-to-date. The gourmet, 3-course breakfasts were scrumptious, and we awoke each morning to the smells of freshly baked breads and the breakfast special soaring through the Inn. We also returned in the afternoons to the smell of freshly baked cookies that were available each day. We spent hours by the fantastic fireplace in the main sitting area - sipping on wine and taking in the beauty of the fire (plenty of freshly chopped firewood right there for our use!). Cooper, the Inn dog, was so wonderful - he reminded me of my black lab I lost last year.

We went on the snowshoe tour/dinner Saturday night to a cabin in the woods, and it far exceeded our expectations. The weather was gorgeous and the sky was so clear you could see every star! We met a bunch of people who were awesome, including a girl who, after talking for about 15 minutes, we decided we were twins separated at birth! There were delicious appetizers in the cabin, then we thoroughly enjoyed a fabulous home-made beef stew - followed by s'mores by the fire! There was a huge bonfire outside and a roaring beautiful fireplace inside.

There is not one thing we could offer as an improvement, it was that exceptional. We will DEFINITELY be back, no doubt about it!!

Thanks again Tim and group!

Stephen Brown and Linda Molfetta

Room Tip: The Dana Room and Joslin rooms were absolutely FABULOUS!!! We didn't see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Few country inns can offer the charm, amenities, and lovely, relaxed service we found at the Round Barn Farm. My husband and I recently stayed here on a quiet Sunday night and rated it as one of the nicest inns we've stayed at (and we've travelled extensively). The setting, on a bucolic country road nestled in a lovely ski valley, is picture-perfect. The inn itself is rustic yet upscale: gorgeous soft wood floors, exposed beams, fireplaces, and cozy nooks abound. We stayed in the Richardsoon room, which we would highly recommend. It boasted a very comfortable king bed, a sitting room with a gas fireplace, a big whirlpool tub overlooking the extensive, private, grounds, and lots of natural light (the only quibble being the lack of shades on the large skylights, which woke us up rather early in the morning). Lovely, unexpected amenities included fresh baked cookies and an appetizers in the afternoon, bath salts, and the basket of slippers waiting at the front door. Breakfast was fresh and inventive: a citrus salad in a balsamic sauce and poached eggs over wilted kale, toast and ham. Often breakfasts at country inns are too sweet and overdone: this was made to order and frankly better than most restaurants I've tried. Only wish we could have stayed longer. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Round Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Round Barn Farm

Address: 1661 E Warren Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Round Barn Farm 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 245 acres of mountains, meadows, and ponds lies this romantic Vermont Inn, a four season vacation retreat for lovers of the arts, history and the outdoors. Friendly and caring Innkeepers at this Waitsfield VT Inn welcome you to enjoy all the comforts of home with none of the demands. Individually decorated guest rooms have been designed with attention to the details that matter. Come experience incredible hospitality at this lovely Warren bed and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Round Barn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Round Barn Farm Hotel Waitsfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Round Barn Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.