We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Bed & Breakfast - However much road noise and miniscule bathrooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Strong House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Strong House Inn to your Saves list
Strong House Inn
94 West Main Street, Vergennes, VT 05491   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Vergennes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice Bed & Breakfast - However much road noise and miniscule bathrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed at the Strong House for several days in July of this year in the Empire Room. Although the grounds of the B&B were very nice, with a nice gazebo and lawns, we were very disappointed in a couple of things. Our room, the Empire, was in the front of the Inn, and although the Inn is technically on "Main Street", Main Street is really Route 22A. We didn't notice this as being a problem until we went to sleep . . . or try to sleep. Route 22A must be a bypass because the amount of tractor trailers is unbelievable. There were hundreds of them going by each night . . . all night. Even trying to eat outside at the restaurants in town was nasty - the traffic and trucks were non-stop.

The other problem was the bathroom and shower. Although the Inn advertises an "en suite" bathroom, the bathroom is about the size of a bathroom on an airplane. It is claustrophobic. The room did not have a bath, but only a shower - get this - located inside a closet. You needed to open a closet door, then the shower was inside the closet. This was not of course mentioned on the website.

Lastly, make sure you aren't picky - breakfast is no choice . . . just put in front of you.

The town of Vergennes is very nice, and the Innkeepers also nice at this B&B. Just wanted to give an honest review of what we experienced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

room was ideal. seperate exit to garden was perfect. view of adirondacks beautiful. Hostess charming. Breakfast very good. Excellent knowledge of region.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We 4 women, of a certain age, found the Strong House Inn to be charming and comfortable.
We were biking each day, to Middlebury, to Essex, and Basin Harbor, returning each evening
to the friendly hosts, Mary & Hugh, and wonderful puzzles.
the breakfasts were ample and tasty, and the bsr well stocked.
Essentially, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and the library and lounge were especially comfortable.
Elaine

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westfield, new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

I stayed at the Strong House Inn on a recent business trip. The room in the Rabbit Ridge house was spacious and elegant, with all the charm of a New England B & B in a freshly rennovated setting. The Inn owners were gracious and accomodating. Breakfast each day was complimentary and delicious! When I initially sought to book a room for the trip, I was unaware that Strong House offers corporate rates- This is not indicated on the website, so speak directly with the Inn owners when booking the reservation.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

I came here to work at a company near by and stayed at the B&B for 3 nights. The owners, Mary and her husband Hugh were very pleasant, helpful and they go out of their way to help you. They have corporate discount for corporate business travelers.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knewthomas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

The Strong House Inn was a beautiful setting for a small autumn wedding. Our rooms in Rabbit Ridge were gorgeous, and the service was excellent. We loved the maple cookies and chatting with the innkeepers. Having spent the previous weekend at a boutique hotel in NYC, the Strong House Inn surpassed even an exclusive city hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strong House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strong House Inn

Address: 94 West Main Street, Vergennes, VT 05491
Location: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vergennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Strong House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strong House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.