We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting-Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sheep Bistro

Black Sheep Bistro
253 Main St, Vergennes, VT 05491-1001
802-877-9991
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Vergennes
Cuisines: Continental, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Interesting-Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a great restaurant. I would recommend it and hope to return. The staff was very friendly and informative. The food was Very Good. For appetizers we had Lobster Ravioli & Duck Cigars--both very Yummy. Dinner was the stuffed chicken that was wonderful and the Steak which was good but we agreed the chicken was better. They bring you a bowl of the most wonderful garlic mashed potatoes and a cup of French fries w/lovely dipping sauces. I thought for how wonderful the place was the they could have done better fries--maybe skin on--these were pretty much just like McDonald fries--good but ordinary.

The only complaint I have is that the bathroom entrance is right in the dining area & the dining area stunk of icky bathroom smell. The front door was opened-- everyone in the place smelled it but still kind of took away from a fabulous meal. Maybe install a better vent system.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    48
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, Vermont, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Strange combo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I liked the menu, appetizers all one price, then the main courses all one price, about 6-8 of each. Our appetizers were delicious. Escargot and Duck cigars. Tasty and tender.
My main course was OK, the haddock was overcooked and I think that it had been frozen, which tastes different from fresh. The other person in our party had a chicken dish that was good. The sauces served on both were excellent. The strange part was after we received our main entrees, the waitress said" I will bring your mashed and fries now. " What? No mention of this anywhere on the menu or from the wait staff. And the strangest thing of all, to us, was the fries came in a 9 inch tall paper cone set upright in a spiral server, with 3 dipping sauces around them. They were shoestring, like McD's! the mashed potatoes were great; garlic and tasty. I would have preferred a choice, a more appropriate one for the style of food we were served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, inventive menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Black Sheep Bistro has been a staple in Vergennes for years now and it's still fabulous! Really lovely food pairings create unique dishes, and very reasonably priced!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“High quality, well thought menu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved the variety offered and the care put in each dish. The duck confit was excellent. Will never forget the creme brûlée. My children enjoyed the dumplings and the churrasco.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delmar ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clone this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Price, Service and Menu are excellent!!!! Our group of 10 was excellently accommodated in every sense. I want to go back!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Black Sheep Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sheep Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.