We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sheep Bistro

Black Sheep Bistro
253 Main St, Vergennes, VT 05491-1001
802-877-9991
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Vergennes
Cuisines: Continental, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The food is tasty, rather simple, and served in adequate portions. The ambiance is cozy and quiet, with the option of sitting outside on nice days. All in all, even though the food might not exactly reflect the quality of the dishes, I would recommend this to others. Only downside would be the service, which misplaced an order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    48
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Savory and Chic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent a celebratory evening at the Black Sheep with family and friends. It was the perfect choice-intimate, convivial surroundings, delicious food, and a top-notch wine list. The appetizers, all seven dollars, and the entrees, all $20, were delicious, perfectly cooked, and well- portioned. Service was attentive and prompt.
Our group ordered some of almost everything and it was all greatly enjoyed. A nice Pinot Grigio complemented the fish course, and a reasonably priced, very plummy Shiraz was enjoyed by the carnivores. Desserts were too tempting to resist, and the maple crime brûlée especially luscious. A flourless chocolate cake was the only item not to attain perfection- it was served too cold for the flavors to be properly enjoyed.
All in all, 6 diners left happy and satisfied.The bill of $230 for appetizers, entrees, desserts and 2 nice bottles of wine was perfectly reasonable. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The food is fantastic and you will always get a great meal. This is one of those restaurants that you will want to wait for if they are busy. With entrees like Mushroom Polenta Napoleon With Roasted Red Pepper Coulis & Creamed Spinich or Pan Seared Salmon Cakes With Caper Remoulade & Celery Root Slaw you can't go wrong. Vermont is the place to go if you want to experience unique eateries and farm to table fresh networks. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This bistro is located in downtown Vergennes--a pretty little village between Lake Champlain and Route 7. It's smallish but loaded with casual ambience with high ceilings and walls loaded with old framed prints. Our table for two, which we reserved a day ahead of time, was in a tiny room next to street with three other tables, two of which were occupied other couples. For some reason, even though we were packed in tight, it seemed private and almost intimate. The menu, while limited to a page of appetizers and entrees, plus a couple of evening specials, offered a pleasing variety of dishes. we settled for escargot and pork scaloppini, and had we been hungrier would have ordered the duck cigar rolls. The wine list was varied and prices reasonable. Our hennaed young wait staff was a simply a pleasure. A delightful experience only enhanced by jazz tunes that fit our tastes perfectly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant in a place where you would not expect to find one. The physical location reminds one of a french bistro, small and intimate. The menu is small, so you know the dishes are prepared then and there. Each entree comes with french fries and mash potatoes, a incongruity that surprised me, but I had a bit of both anyway. The french fries were delicious. Dessert was also very good. It's a bit far from our home, but I think we'll come back soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Black Sheep Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sheep Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.