We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food! Casual Atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Squares Cafe

3 Squares Cafe
221 Main St, Vergennes, VT 05491-1117
802-877-2772
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Vergennes
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Colchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food! Casual Atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband loves the Huevos Rancheros & open-faced meatloaf with gravy sandwich. They use a lot of local VT ingredients & products, including "Daily Chocolate" chocolates for sale (which is convenient, bcz, although that shop is right around the corner, they are closed Sun & Mon).
Very good desserts, as well as chai tea lattes. They have limited seating & it's usually crowded (bcz the food is great).
The service can sometimes be slow & somewhat indifferent. The prices are a bit high, but you get what you pay for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new england
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Long wait for food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We decided to try this cafe after reading positive reviews. The inside of the restaurant is in need of sprucing up. My husband ordered a muffin which was nothing special. I ordered a hummus plate which took 25 minutes to arrive, long after my husband had received and eaten the muffin. I have to say that my dish was presented well and was tasty. Due to their slow service, I felt rushed and found it difficult to enjoy a pleasant lunch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Vermont
1 review
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were on a date and found this place. We drank coffee, ate good food while jazz music (Budos Band & Dizzy Gillespie) piped over the PA. We sat in the window watching the world go by. The raggedy hip staff (atmosphere) invited us back for the other times when interesting cuisine is being served. We will go back and make this a fun place to go when we have visiting friends from out of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergennes, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A place to bring friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stop here whenever friends are in town for lunch or breakfast. The food has always been very good. I have never eaten dinner here. You order and pay at the counter and then find a seat and your food is brought to you. I especially like sitting outside in warm weather.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergennes, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and socialize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lots of great choices and a fun atmosphere. It's fun sitting in the windows and looking out over Main street. The food is a very good value and tasty. casual setting and lots of fun to sit around and talk to friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Squares Cafe also viewed

 

Been to 3 Squares Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Squares Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.