We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Vermont diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Townshend Dam Diner

Townshend Dam Diner
5929 VT Rt 30, Townshend, VT 05353
(802) 874-4953
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Townshend
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Classic Vermont diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Full of locals - food was good, service fast, cost low. Did not feel out of place even though we are "flatlanders."

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not quite the diner feel that we look for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

After reading all the reviews we decided to check the place out for ourselves. We both got a bison burger which was very good as were the onion rings. Service was good too. Overall it's a good place if you're passing through but it just didn't have the diner feel that we like.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Bridge, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We were engaged on Dec. 10th 2002 and visited Vermont for our engagement Jan 2003 so...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

For our Engagement we stayed @ the Windham and enjoyed doing lots of things like snowmobiling, sleigh ride toasting to our engagement with Champagne. One of the days in our travels in Vermont we stumbled across this diner. The Dam diner and had the best breakfast. We bought sweaters and post cards from there too. What a nice diner tucked away. We also viewed the Scott Bridge there in Townshend. We had the best days, One of my favorite memories being there with Ron.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Breakfast with WEBE 108's Storm N Norman & Maureen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Met our friends from Connecticut at this wonderful Vermont Diner which we have passed many times on our way to The Old Tavern in Grafton. The food was excellent and the atmosphere completely Vermont. Our server was very attentive and even the customers were friendly. I think we will make it a tradition to stop here each your for peak weekend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Down Home Cooking - Local Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stopped to eat here because the parking lot was full. We felt like we were definitely amongst "the locals." Food was great -- what you would expect for a "diner." Menu is very broad, and there were daily soups/vegetables/sides. The apple-raspberry was recommended by our server. Great recommendation -- it was DELICIOUS!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Townshend Dam Diner also viewed

Been to Townshend Dam Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townshend Dam Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.