We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, comfort, and friendliness made for a great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taftsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Hill Inn
Save
You added Apple Hill Inn to your Saves list
10 Hartwood Way, Taftsville, VT 05091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Taftsville B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beauty, comfort, and friendliness made for a great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

This attractive B&B takes full advantage of the gorgeous location high on a hill. The public rooms all have large windows overlooking the valley, and a recently added large screened porch should be very inviting in the summer months. Our room was spacious, scrupulously clean and tastefully and traditionally decorated with a four poster bed. My request for an additional rollaway bed was cheerfully met for a small additional charge. And it was comfortable! Stuffed french toast served with real maple syrup played a starring role in the delicious breakfast. The innkeepers could not have been friendlier or more helpful in answering questions about dining options and attractions in the area. The location of this B&B is perfect for anyone wanting to visit Woodstock or the Quechee Gorge area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
59
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heber City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Usually, I am very wary when it comes to bed and breakfast places. You know how it is -- either you don't feel comfortable or you feel like the host/innkeeper does not feel comfortable with you or needs to know where you are at all times. You feel like you have to act like a churchmouse so as to not disturb others if it is late at night and feel like you shouldn't be coming and going past 10pm. There are other guests in close quarters and you have to eat breakfast (usually in close quarters) with complete strangers. Also, as beautiful as most people think their B&B is, it usually is not. Unique, yes, but breathtaking? Well, the Apple Hill Inn is different.

I had heard people talk about a 'home away from home' when reviewing B&Bs. I didn't understand. I still cannot say I completely understand, but at least I now get the general idea. Beverlee makes you feel like family. You know, you can be yourself because she is herself. Not overwhelming or overbearing -- just herself. The conversation is natural and inviting. Within a half hour, you feel like the voices in the home could be that of family.

As for the house, it is laid out perfectly for a B&B. It is long, with a suite over the detatched garage. This provides the perfect degree of separation from others. We actually stayed in the Sunrise room (which is the northernmost room in the house), but even it was separated enough because of the length of the house that we felt like we had our own space. The long home stretches further north still with the dining room, then a living room that truly is breathtaking and accomodates additional breakfast seating. The posted photos simply do not do it justice. It affords a sweeping view to the north and west across the Ottauquechee River. Every square foot of wall space is windows in this spacious and inviting light-filled room. Beyond that, there is a patio of at least equal size that is also amagnficent.

I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We had our wedding at the Apple Hill on 25 September. The site is perfect for weddings. Beverlee (inn keeper) felt like family. She is warm and inviting to all. Breakfast was always wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We found Bev years and years ago when my husband and I were making our pilgrimage to upstate NY to see family. Since then, Bev has seen us through weddings, family illnesses, loss of parents, joy and sorrow and has treated us as kindly and lovingly as if we were her own. Apple Hill has been the "high point" of many of these trips and much anticipated. The beauty of the surroundings is beyond decription and the food superb! We would not go anywhere else in the Woodstock area.
Thanks Bev and Andy! We love you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at this quaint bed and breakfast for our one year anniversary. I can't say enough wonderful things. It was the most beautiful home set in the most idyllic location. And, to add to the overall wonderful experience, the proprietor, Beverly is the most gracious host and fantastic cook around!! Please stay here if you have the opportunity. You will not be sorry. We will be returning.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This was our second trip to Apple Hill Inn to celebrate my wife's birthday. The inn is perched atop a hill with beautiful panoramic views of the surrounding bucolic landscape. We had forgotten how spectacular both the inn and the views are. Bev is a great hostess and a superb cook. She truly enhances the stay. My wife and I have decided that we will not stay anywhere else when we visit Vermont in the years to come.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Our family had the priveledge of spending time with Beverlee and Andy while on our whirlwind summer vacation. I must say, it was the highlight of our trip. Not only did we thoroughly enjoy our hosts and their precocious canine, the accomodations were impeccably clean and remarkably comfortable. The beautiful grounds offered a stunning view of the surrounding Vermont countryside and its location was quite convenient to local attractions. We were treated as if we were family and we were fed as if we were royalty. The experience was truly a blessing for our entire family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hill Inn

Address: 10 Hartwood Way, Taftsville, VT 05091
Location: United States > Vermont > Taftsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Taftsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Apple Hill Hotel Taftsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.