We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wanted to swim, not buy the place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swimming Hole

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Swimming Hole
75 Weeks Hill Rd., Stowe, VT 05672
802-253-9229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 17 Attractions in Stowe
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Activities: Swimming
Attraction details
Stowe, VT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just wanted to swim, not buy the place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

You be the judge. An hour at the pool or all day it does not matter;

Adults(18-64) $20
Juniors(6-17) $14
Seniors(65+) $17
Children 5 & Under $6

Family of 4 looking for a swim $68. Don't forget your towels or bring valuables!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Ringgold, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unhappy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Found it to be to expensive to swim laps.My wife and I felt that 40 bucks for the two of us to swim one hour was steep.It takes us less than a half hour to swim our 1000 yards.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went one beautiful Sunday afternoon and few people were there. I did notice that when I went by in the morning that it was a busy place. The water slide was lots of fun for adults and kids. The locker room was spacious and clean. There appeared to be lots of exercising machines. We went to swim.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“More then one would expect in a 5000 person village.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Swimming Hole is one of the reasons we still live in Stowe. Most of the reviews are correct. The good and the bad. The facility is exceptional in a 5000+ person village. It would do very well in Westchester, Long Island, Arlington or anywhere else. It is modern, clean and offers a variety of equipment, facilities and classes to make everyone happy. Some of the TVs and switches are broken and don't seem to be repaired in a timely manner. When exercise machines are broken they are closed off and repaired. The water temperature in the main pool is warm for swimmers and vigorous play. It will not keep you warm if you want to relax in the water without moving much. It is a swimmer's pool. There is a small, warm toddler pool warm enough to keep you warm even if you sit around. The air is very warm. The facility gets no financial support from the town or state. It is a non for profit facility. I am sure it would have brighter lights, newer TVs, lower rates and so forth if it had the financial ability to do so. It exists in a small village and does not have a huge economic base to allow it to have "the best money can buy". Its best is pretty good but not perfect. The staff is polite and helpful. There are times when there are not enough of them to check people in, check them out, handle questions, look for lost towels and answer phones. On those occasions they may not have the time to focus their smiles on the unhappy customer. It happens. I agree the day rates are on the high side. They need to be to allow the place to survive. Its economics. The yearly and monthly rates are very reasonable compared to equivalent facilities. This is a village with $92/day ski rates. Its very expensive to run anything in Vermont (but that is another story). I really have no sympathy for those who insist on paying and then wining about the price. You know what you are paying for, don't if you feel its to much.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, Great Family fun from 3-6pm daily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have been going to the swimming hole for over 5 years. We love it there. We bring our out of town guest; had birthday parties there. It is always clean and the water is 82*. Some people must like to complain because I don't see the problems. The cost is manageable if you buy coupon books at the center. We are a small population in Vermont and we have to pay a little more for these benefits.
Pam

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swimming Hole also viewed

 

Been to Swimming Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swimming Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.