We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Stowe Inn to your Saves list
The Stowe Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Stowe B&B and Inns
Tiverton, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Place is great, please ignore those negative reviews, my girlfriend worried for nothing and it turned out being very nice. Only problem we had was that the bridge was closed and construction was being done at 730 am Sunday morning. The private construction company obviously has no common courtesy and at least could of started a little bit later.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    43
    42
    35
See reviews for
50
120
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a beer sojourn to the wild wild east, we stumbled upon Stowe Inn in Stowe, Vermont. At first skeptical due to the extremely low price, we were sublimely surprised to find it was a classy very cozy inn. It's a national historic landmark but the place is kept up pretty well, aside from the noisy heating unit. And they had Heady Topper available in the bar in the hotel which is a sign of quality considering it's the #1 beer in america according to Beer Advocate. The staff was super friendly and even gave us a free room upgrade. I strongly recommend a trip to Stowe, lots to do, skiing, beer, and Ben & Jerry's factory 15 minutes down the road. Need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a last minute weekend away and chose The Stowe Inn in Vermont. I booked a King Suite for two nights with wine and strawberries on check in. I have to say we were disappointed with our stay. Firstly once we arrived we found the town had closed the access bridge to the hotel so we had to drive a couple of miles detour, not so bad but it meant we couldn't walk to the restaurants that were only a stones throw away. Lucky for us the work stopped on Saturday so the constant beeping and heavy machines digging noise stopped for a day, they did start up again 7-30am Sunday morning but by then we were heading out on our way home. The wine and strawberries on check in arrived after dinner that night so were left untouched till the next day.
The room (for once) was exactly as depicted on the website, except the little electric fire place was broken and wasn't scheduled to be repaired for a week. I would advise the management to get new pillows, they were clean but lumpy, and change laundry service. 2 towels for two adults just isn't enough, Women need two towels and the smell of bleach shouldn't be part of my holiday experience.
Unfortunately at 1am our four poster bed started to collapse in the middle because the support legs down the middle of the bed had come away. Not fun. Can you imagine two 50 something people trying to force legs back into place in the middle of a king size bed? It wasn't pretty.
After we checked in we discovered the hotel restaurant was shut down for the season which forced us back into the car to eat. I checked the car park and counted 24 cars, which meant there were around 50 guests, so why couldn't we order anything but fried bar food?
The complimentary continental breakfast was ok, but Sunday morning the toaster and chilled boiled eggs weren't there at 7-30am so again, not ideal.
All in all, I've stayed in much worse conditions but this was supposed to be a romantic get away and I felt like I was staying in my aunt's expensive house but she put away all the good stuff before we got there.

Room Tip: There are two buildings, the main building has the charming rooms, the other has motel style. Until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Truly enjoyed our stay. As expected the hotel, being a classic, is older but the rooms are modern and obviously recently renovated, very clean a joy to stay in. The location could not be better, on main street and walking distance to the main hiking paths and the local Stowe attractions. The restaurant is top notch and I would think the nicest in town with a menu as varied and imaginative as a good Boston establishment. There is a gas fire pit with seating area in the back and a pool, where everyone gathered in the evening for cocktails and visiting. We stopped here on the drive to Quebec City, and were glad we did.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back which was very quiet, not sure of whether the rooms in the front might exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a previous pleasant stay at the Stowe Inn I have decided to book one night on March 28 during a ski trip to Stowe. I have arrived with the normal expectation of having similar accommodations. Instead I was assigned a room in the building across from the main hotel. The rear entrance is creepy. They don't even bother to put in a decent TV. Instead they still have the 1980's model without a remote.
When I asked the clerk for a room in the main hotel I was told that this is what I get for the price even though I paid the same price a few weeks earlier for a nice room. I understand if the hotel had high occupancy but there was hardly anybody there.
I strongly recommend on checking with the hotel before making on-line reservations.
I personally will choose a different hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We paid $200.00 for a very shabby room...everything was OLD!!!!! The paint job was bizarre!!!! Bed was hard Hard to see anything in the room it was so dark. Breakfast was so cheap...
cold cereal, white bread...
Could they go for a decent bagel or english????? How expensive could that be.
Very disapointing and at the price...outrageous!!!! Will not recommended it to anyone

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We recently spent 4 days at this quaint, charming New England Inn. Three of us were there to get together for quilting while the others planned to spend their days on the ski slopes. Skiing is a short drive up Mountain Road.
After getting together for the Inn's tasty continental breakfast the quilters were given total freedom to set up each day in the comfortable historic dining room. The kitchen staff arranged for tea and muffins to be available while we worked at no additional charge. Staff members and guests stopped in to check on our progress and the Inn owner, Lori, was most accommodating for all our needs and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Thanks Lori!
At the end of each day the five of us were able to get together and chat in one of our extra-large rooms before making the short walk to one of the downtown restaurants. We all look forward to a return visit to the Stowe Inn.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stowe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.