We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Stowe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Stowe Inn to your Saves list
The Stowe Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10/10 Holiday Deal
Ranked #17 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
Naerum, Denmark
2 reviews
“Excellent location in Stowe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice old hotel with atmosphere and good food. Very good service at reception(Jenna). Close to beautiful mountains and wonderful autumn colors in September.
Rooms are old-fashioned equiped. With big beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello.
Thank you for your nice comments.

Our staff works hard to help all our guests have an enjoyable, fun and relaxing stay at our hotel.
Our guests like our friendly, unique, clean, centrally located, and low key atmosphere at our inn, away from the "hustle" and "bustle" of large cities.

Our hotel is listed on The National Historic Register and certainly has the antique style and charm of a classic New England style, historic hotel.

Again, thank you for your nice comments and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Management
Stowe Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    40
    39
    33
See reviews for
44
114
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have been to The Stowe Inn for dinner before, but this was our first time staying at the Inn overnight. Our room was located in the Main house on the first floor near reception. We've stayed at historic B&B's before so our expectation of a modern sleek facility was not there as some of the other reviewers seem to have.The architecture and furnishings remain true to the era of the building with plenty of sitting areas, fireplaces and a nice wrap around porch for morning coffee and a book!
We loved the convenience of proximity to Main Street. You can leave the car and stroll into town as sidewalks are readily available and stores, etc...are a short distance away. (We enjoyed an Artisan festival while we were in town and scored some great local products to boot.)
Overall, we were satisfied with our stay and felt the Inn has a lot of character and charm. We will be sure to stop in again next time we are in Stowe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello.

Welcome back to our establishment.
We are glad you were able to stay the night in our main inn and that our staff and hotel created
a great experience for you.

We appreciate your feedback that we are not a sleek, high rise style of property but a unique, comfortable and friendly new England style inn.

We are actually listed on The national Register of Historic Hotels and have kept the original architecture of the inn to keep the charm of this style of inn and to maintain it's history here in Stowe.

Thanks for noticing and appreciating the bones of a historic inn built in the 1800's yet with the modern amenities!

Again, we appreciate your wonderful comments and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Stowe.

Management at The Stowe Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Despite an attractive exterior, the overall feel was that of a cheap motel. The first impressions were poor; there was a stack of old signs propped against the wall in reception (they stayed there through our two day visit even though they were next to a door to a private office where they could have been stored), and the whole area looked as though it needed a good sweep. Lighting was sufficient for the receptionist to work in, but no more. The whole place felt a bit grubby, and the room itself was a bit dark and gloomy. Coffee and tea left in reception for guests were both empty, and although the receptionist saw us try them, there was no offer to refill them or apology that they were finished. The receptionist, while friendly enough, was generally a bit unresponsive; we were given the key and told where the room was, and that was it. No information about the restaurant or bar, or what the arrangements were for breakfast. We initially decided to eat in that night as it was the one wet night of our holiday, but on going to the bar it, and the restaurant, were all in darkness. We later discovered that they only open from Wednesday to Sunday (we were there Monday & Tuesday) but it would have been nice to have been told when we checked in. (In fairness, this was on their website but as we had been booked in by an agent as part of a 'fly-drive' holiday, we had not seen it.) When we went to breakfast in the morning everywhere was still closed, and we assumed we were mistaken about it being included. Just about to go out, we mentioned it to the receptionist who directed us to a conference room at the end of a corridor, where a jar of pretty poor muffins and a Thermos of coffee and hot water had been placed well out of sight on a sideboard, together with an empty jug we assumed had once contained fruit juice. We had breakfast at a local Bagel shop the following day. We joked about the place reminding us a bit of the Bates Motel from Psycho! The overall feel was of a hotel which is at worst, unloved or at best, in need of a good makeover, and of reception staff who need thorough training in how to look after guests properly.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest.
We have received your response.
The breakfast has been updated to include cereal, milk, juice, coffee and freshly baked muffins
during the week.

The coffee and continental breakfast is offered complimentary and included with the
Our restaurant is open Wednesday-Sunday for dinner. We do give our chef off two days a week
to rest. We are known for our tasty prime rib and seafood and we hope you are able to join us soon.

We do apologize for the front desk agent who you indicated was not friendly.
This concerns us greatly.
This employee has been spoken to and is now no longer employed by the hotel.
We take your comments seriously and do appreciate you giving us your feedback.

Please visit us again soon.
Stowe Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Stowe Inn has gone to great lengths to cover up a hotel that needs to be seriously gutted and renovated. Shocking at $160/night. Could really be a charming place given its long-standing history.

Location was perfect to walk to Stowe restaurants, even the local cinema.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello.
Dear guest. Thank you for providing us your feedback.
You stayed in our economy style rooms during a sold our weekend here in Stowe.

We wish you had brought your concern to our staff and we would have moved you to a different room right away. The Carriage House building where you stayed has many rooms with new carpet and tile etc.. and you would have been more comfortable in one of these rooms or in our main inn rooms with antique style furniture which are more spacious.

We are in the process of updating our Carriage house rooms but in the meantime, can offer to upgrade you at no additional charge, to our main inn, which boast antique style furniture, historic, updated rooms, on your next stay to Stowe.

Spend some time in our library, or sitting room complete with a piano or drink coffee on our wrap around deck.

Our hotel has a great location, clean rooms and friendly staff.
Come see us soon.

Sincerely

Stowe Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED WITH EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS HOTEL EXCEPT I WOULD NOT FAULT IT ON CLEANLINESS TO BE FAIR.
Staff were rude. Noinformation abouthotel or the town. Breakfast consisted of cold tea and a choice of plain or blueberry muffin ssold as continentalbreakfast when complained about breakfast it was a take it or leave it attitude.
Would not recommend and have advised tour operator to check this out andconsider removing from their books

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello.
Thank you for your recent feedback.
Our breakfast has been updated to include fresh fruit and other items which I am sure you will enjoy.

We have addressed the concerns of the unfriendly employee and this person is now no longer employed at the hotel. We are terribly sorry you had an unpleasant experience with this employee as we have very fun and friendly employees working here who love assisting our guests with things to do, see and enjoy while staying with us.

We hope you will stay with us again soon and meet the rest of our staff which you will find to be very nice, friendly and helpful.

Sincerely:

The Stowe Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We paid over $200. for a night in what we thought from the pictures would be a quaint New England Inn. The public spaces were attractive and comfortable, but our room, in the main Inn, was a disappointment, to say the least. The fixtures in the bathroom were corroded, floor tiles broken, baseboard missing, and tub chipped. The carpet was a worn, garish teal green which clashed with the olive green of the bedspread. There were 2 hangers in the closet. Our room was nowhere near as nice as those pictured on the website. This is the type of room I would expect to pay $60 - $70 for.

Room Tip: I can't say - we were supposedly in the nicest section of the Inn. If so, I would hate to see w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello.
Thank you for your recent feedback.

We wish you had brought your concern to us while you were staying at our hotel.

Many guests like our green carpet in this particular room with a balcony but if this was not your style, we would have gladly moved you to a different room had we known.

We did not see a corroded faucet in the room as the faucet was new, but did notice a small chip outside the tub which was missed by our staff and will be corrected. We did not notice any chipped tile but you must have meant the small chip on the tub near the tile floor which we will fix.

This room does not have a baseboard as it is part of the historic mansion and was kept in similar style previously of the 1800's but we will look into this possibility for the future as a potential change.

We are constantly having to replace missing hangers from our guests rooms as some guests borrow them to transport their dresses and suits to their car. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will keep a closer eye on this.

Many rooms have balconies, spa tubs, king sixed poster beds etc...all rooms in our main inn are different and unique as we are a historic inn built in the 1800's.

With the different room options, we are confident we have a room that will be perfect for you.

We hope you will give us another chance

Sincerely:
Stowe Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

There was hair in the bathtub, the carpet hadn't been vacuumed in a while, and there was a tile missing in the bathroom. I'm sure the rooms in the main building are fine because the restaurant and living room looked great, but the carriage house room was terrible. The paint was sloppy, the carpet wasn't finished, the tv remote didn't work, and the bed was very short.
That said, the location was perfect. Short walk from town and very quiet.
All things considered I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Room 14 was terrible. Don't stay in the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello.
We were unaware of this problem during your stay during this busy fall time period in Stowe.
We wish you had brought this to our attention as we would have moved you to a different room immediately and would have wanted to look into your concerns right away.

Thank you for your feedback about the motel style rooms, in the Carriage House building you stayed in. These rooms are not as updated as our antique style main inn rooms, but we are in the process of changing over most of the rooms with new carpets, new linen etc..

The beds are smaller (full size) in this building and will sleep 2-4 persons comfortably.
I do suggest the main inn which has the antique style furniture and is much more modern and charming as you indicated.

Please let us know on your next visit to Stowe, so we can upgrade you to our main inn for no additional charge during your stay.
Stowe Inn
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stowe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.