We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location... that's all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Stowe Inn to your Saves list
The Stowe Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10/10 Holiday Deal
Ranked #17 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location... that's all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

There was hair in the bathtub, the carpet hadn't been vacuumed in a while, and there was a tile missing in the bathroom. I'm sure the rooms in the main building are fine because the restaurant and living room looked great, but the carriage house room was terrible. The paint was sloppy, the carpet wasn't finished, the tv remote didn't work, and the bed was very short.
That said, the location was perfect. Short walk from town and very quiet.
All things considered I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Room 14 was terrible. Don't stay in the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello.
We were unaware of this problem during your stay during this busy fall time period in Stowe.
We wish you had brought this to our attention as we would have moved you to a different room immediately and would have wanted to look into your concerns right away.

Thank you for your feedback about the motel style rooms, in the Carriage House building you stayed in. These rooms are not as updated as our antique style main inn rooms, but we are in the process of changing over most of the rooms with new carpets, new linen etc..

The beds are smaller (full size) in this building and will sleep 2-4 persons comfortably.
I do suggest the main inn which has the antique style furniture and is much more modern and charming as you indicated.

Please let us know on your next visit to Stowe, so we can upgrade you to our main inn for no additional charge during your stay.
Stowe Inn
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    40
    39
    33
See reviews for
44
114
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sherburne, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently spent the weekend here. We had a room in the carriage house. It was adequate if all you need is a place to sleep, but it was not a comfortable room. Even with all the lights on, the room was "very dark. We paid $189 a night to stay here but everything seems to be done on the cheap. The faucets do not turn in the standard direction, there are no hooks to hang anything on,
the toilet paper was so thin you could see through it. The toilet seat must have been replaced at one time, as it was smaller than the bowl. The cleaners did not clean the toilet bowl while we were there. The bathtub, bathroom door, and closet doors are discolored, or dirty and need cleaning or painting. The lower tiles in the shower need replacing and are dirty/moldy. I am only 5'8" and had to stoop to see in the mirror as it was hung too low. I found someone's dirty sock under the bed, no telling how long it was there. On the positive side, check in was quick, and the front desk staff were very friendly, but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed one night at this property and had a gorgeous, cozy room. Our room was in the main building - the original Inn. It overlooked the river and the little covered bridge. The girl at the front desk, Emily, was sweet, charming, and very knowledgeable about the area. We also met the adorable neighborhood cat, Snowball, as he was roaming the property and greeting the guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Stay in the original inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello.
Thank you for your recent review.
We appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff and hotel.

The river behind our hotel is surely beautiful along with our unique, historic hotel.
We are glad you had a wonderful stay in our cozy main inn rooms and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stowe Inn
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visit Vermont every fall & are usually very happy with our accommodations. I wouldn't recommend this place & we will not return to it. We were put in one of the dingy motel rooms (behind the main inn) which was really old & poorly maintained. The staff was not very helpful & it was pretty obvious that they didn't care whether we were there or not.

We were very disappointed & were glad we only booked four nights there! It was conveniently located (within walking distance) to downtown Stowe. But, that's the only thing that was acceptable about it!

Room Tip: Pick another Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear guest. We are sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel.
We wish you had brought your concerns to our attention.
Our staff typically gets rave reviews about their frendliness and are always very helpful.
We are disappointed that this was not your experience.

The motel room you stayed in is our economy room and perhaps our main inn rooms would have been a better fit for you and your family. The Carriage House rooms (economy rooms) do have new carpets in almost every room now and most have new vanities and tiled floors. Please ask for our newly rennovated room on your next visit.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson, Vermont, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

the GM at the front desk "Lynnlee" was great,she very helpful and knowledgeable . the room was clean and very cozy . the bar tender "Alex" was great. I have a food allergy and the cook staff was very careful with the making of my dinner .The food service was good and our meals were awesome .The GM "Lynnlee" came around to see how things were going while we were in the diningroom .My husband and I only stayed one night but we would got back again.

Room Tip: the higher rooms are less noisey and you don't smell the cigarette smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor to give our hotel and restaurant accolades. The guest always comes first at The Stowe Inn. Our staff cares about each and every guest and making their stay a memorable experience. Thank you for pointing out specific examples, such as our chef listening to your needs regarding your food allergies while still preparing you a scrumptious dinner!
Please come back and stay a little longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was expecting to stay in a charming restored old building, but found I had booked a 1950's style, poorly maintained, musty, and ugly motel style room. Building and grounds were suffering from gross neglect.
The location was fine and a short walk into the village proper where there were good places to eat and several charming shops. The little I saw of any staff was left the impression that they really didn't care.
Uless this is the only room intown and you have to be there, don't bother.

Room Tip: Stay at another inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We take our guest's comments to heart, and appreciate you taking the time to tell us about it. We are sad that you did not alert the on site manager or front desk staff of the issues you were having, they are there to help make your stay more comfortable and immediately resolve any issues.
Our great location is just one of the reasons we have so many returning guests. We pride ourselves on customer service and making the guest's experience a pleasant one.
The Stowe Inn is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and our property dates back to 1814. We are proud of our history, and most of our furnishings in the main inn are antiques.
Our staff maintains our property very well, and we are currently in the last stages of replacing all of the carpets in our Carriage House (economy rooms) where you stayed, as well as doing minor upgrades in those rooms.
We review all comments with our team and strive to offer the best service to our guests, so thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located a few minutes walk from the centre of the village, the Inn was a pretty good option for us. We stayed two nights, basing ourselves for exploration of the surrounding area. We stayed in the main part of the building with a room overlooking the road. No traffic noise as it's a quiet place at night.
Clean and comfortable rooms, not overly spacious, with a small balcony off the room. The only major downside was the terrible WIFI connection. It may be free but it doesn't really work at all, even downstairs near the reception area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building as I'm sure they're better than the ones on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management17, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review of your stay at The Stowe Inn. Yes, we are perfectly located to serve as home base for your daytime excursions, and a stone’s throw from the village.
Our housekeeping staff takes pride in ensuring our guest rooms are clean and comfortable so you have a pleasurable stay, and we appreciate your positive comments.
We did have some recent issues with our Wi-Fi, and we listened to our customers…so in late September 2013 we upgraded to a brand new Wi-Fi system to ensure our wonderful guests are taken care of. Thank you for your patience and we hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stowe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.