We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Stowe Inn to your Saves list
The Stowe Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Stowe B&B and Inns
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This place was great. We were put on the third floor where there is only one suite. Huge bedroom with flat panel TV, King size bed, fridge, free bottle of wine, another separate bedroom with 2 twin beds, and 2 full bathrooms. Nice pool, nice front porch where we sat outside at night and sipped wine. Easy walking to downtown Stowe. Very close to lots of brew pubs. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    56
    41
    39
    33
See reviews for
45
114
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stowe Inn is one of the prettiest Inns in Stowe. It has a beautiful entrance and porch area. The restaurant on the premises is very nice. It is centrally located and from there you can walk to many places. When we checked in, it didn't seem like the right hand knew what the left hand was doing. He was pleasant but scattered. He kept blaming the confusion on another person who took the reservations. He kept his cool and sense of humor though, which was much appreciated! The women at the front desk during the weekdays were abrupt and didn't seem to like their job though.
Our room was nice and clean, the cleaning lady was by far the nicest person there!
That all being said, it was a nice place, just could have been so much better with a little better attitude.

Room Tip: Arrive on a Friday, leave on a Monday to avoid the front desk employees that don't seem to want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Hello, Thank you for your review and nice remarks about The Stowe Inn. We were /are in transitional period and have trained our new staff accordingly. I appologize for the abruptness. We strive to make The Stowe Inn a great place to stay and our New Riverhouse Restaurant a great place to dine. As the new GM, your review is very important to me and I hope to see you again. Steve Clark GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quincy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

recently stayed for two nights we had a livingsocials voucher. the room was nice and it was clean. we weren't impressed with the restuarant,the food was very pricey for what you received and not very good. the free appertizer were two sliders that were hard as hockey pucks. we than went down the next morning for breakfast that was supposed to be ready at 7:00am and it was not.we ended up going out for breakfast and paying it was suppose to included in the voucher but wasn't ready. we also didn't receive our tickets to cabot and didn't have time to go so they did take the amount off of our tax which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I purchased a two night stay for the Stowe Inn through living social. The voucher was good for 2 nights in a deluxe room, but since we made our reservations last minute, only the carriage house was available. Upon arrival, the owner offered to upgrade us for the second night of our stay. She was also very informative and passionate about the area and offered us numerous suggestions on the local attractions. The next morning we checked on the status of our upgraded room and were told it would be available around noon, however, 20 minutes later Lori found us in the tavern enjoying our breakfast to inform us the room was ready. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Mack and Alyssa in the tavern. We had a great stay and hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: Make reservations early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very nice lobby but the rest is very disappointing.
A big reliability issue in the hotel and its restaurant.
At the end we couldn't believe a word the receptionist was saying , amazingly enough she was also the restaurant hostess.

The menu they put in the room is not the one in the restaurant. We've being told by the waiter that the just replaced the menu by a new one and didn't had the time to replace the once in the room. We've being told by the hostess that they got different menu every day….go figure… Further more, when you order you don't get what it says in the menu.
"Sorry" was the most popular word by the waiters to almost every table in the restaurant.
We're a family of 5 person. In the room there were only 4 pillows, I've asked for another one and another towel.
We went to eat at the hotel restaurant, on the way out I verified and being told that they brought the pillow and the towel to the room. Well.. it wasn't.
The phone in the room didn't work so I had to go back to the reception and bring it myself.

The bathroom door was wider then it's lintel and couldn't be properly closed and couldn't be locked.

I won't come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bennington Vermont
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I were given a gift certificate for a two night stay at the Stowe Inn in a queen room with a balcony for Christmas 2010. My wife called to make our reservation on June 1 , 2011 . So far so good. On July 5 , 2011 my wife called to confirm a reservation for July 18 &19. She was told everything was in order . On July 18 we arrived looking forward to two great nights in beautiful Stowe , Vermont. We were asked by a very pleasant desk person if she could help us and we stated who we were and that we had a queen room reservation. Out of the back room came this person who said "I'll take care of them". Later we found out that this was the owner. She informed us that all queen rooms had gone up in price since we confirmed on July 5 and we would have to pay an extra $40.00 per night if we wanted the queen room with the balcony. I was very upset and was ready to leave when my wife made me aware of the fact that they already had the gift certificate money and if we left, we would be loosing out on the "gift" and that the Inn would be celebrating something for nothing. Cooler heads prevailed and my wife and a young gentleman resolved the problem and we had a great two nights as planned. The owner was trying to give us a minimum room for the better room price that had already been reserved. The Stowe Inn is very nice and other than this experiance , we enjoyed our stay. Moral : Don't give Gift Certificates to the Stowe Inn !!! Pay for what you get .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock, ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We booked this hotel on priceline after arriving in Stowe. We were looking for something affordable, so we weren't expecting 5 star lodging. For $70 we got this hotel. The main hotel is beautiful, classic New England Inn. However, the room we got was in a back "motel" looking strip behind the main property. I wasn't concerned about that until we got to the room, and it smelled pretty bad (a very dank, musty odor). Also, there were no screens on the windows, which had been left open, so there were a lot of bugs in the room. We extended our stay in Stowe two extra days, but did not stay at this property, even though they offered it to us for $59/night. I guess in this case, we got what we paid for

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stowe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.