We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a romantic getaway.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Hill Inn to your Saves list
Stone Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Unique Honeymoon Packages
Ranked #2 of 25 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For a romantic getaway.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

We have visited this Inn about three or four times. We usually go around our anniversary in June. Hap and Amy, from the very first time we came to this lovely Inn, made us feel welcome, and comfortable. They were very pleasant to talk with and share with us their dream of what a beautiful romantic weekend is all about. The rooms are beautiful, but they are all different. The view from the rooms overlook their well kept grounds. The flowers and waterfalls are really worth seeing. The rooms also boast of a fireplace that can be viewed from the bedroom and the bathroom. And with a double jacuzzi tub, and candles and rubber ducks, I don't know what else you would need. My husband and I really love this inn, and we have taken our son and his girlfriend with us. They loved it as well. I guess it's the little things, like flowers and candy on our anniversary, and popcorn for the ride home. It is a must for any romantic couple.

  • Liked — The double jacuzzi tubs and the innkeepers
  • Disliked — Probably that it is about 3 hours from my home, and I can't get there more often
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
414
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

We booked the Stone Hill Inn to celebrate our anniversary and to improve our skiing at Stowe Mountain! Amy and Hap were excellent Innkeepers with great insight for the important things travellers are looking for. Our room was lovely and comfortable, but we equally enjoyed hanging out by the main fire and playing pool. Breakfast kept us well fuelled for the slopes and the hot tub was the perfect way to wind down at the end of the day. We will definitely be going back and taking friends with us!

  • Liked — Luxury bedding & main fireplace
  • Disliked — Bathroom will need updating soon
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

The Stone Hill Inn has everything (and then some) that you could hope
for in a country inn: large, immaculate rooms with oh-so-comfy beds, supreme quality linens, and luscious bathroom amenities that inspire rest, relaxation and romance. We just returned from a lovely 3 night stay and we literally had to force ourselves to leave our room to explore the surrounding area of Stowe. Breakfast was sublime in a large peaceful breakfast room, and the (free!) afternoon hors d'oeuvres were so plentiful and delicious that we never had room for dinner.

Even though the inn was full during our stay, we never felt the least bit crowded, rushed or bothered in any way by anyone or anything. We felt like we had to whole place to ourselves! We needed to rest, so this was a real gift.

If you like luxury, gourmet food, a large immaculate bathroom with its own two-sided fireplace, and two-person jaccuzzi, along with a peaceful view to be enjoyed while lying in a luscious king-sized bed, you have to visit the Stone Hill Inn.

I stay in hotels/inns one week out of two, so it takes a lot to impress me...Wow!

  • Liked — innkeepers were hospitable and detail-oriented without being intrusive
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

The Stone HIll Inn was everything and more than I could have hoped for. From the second you walk into the lobby, you experrience the feeling of being pampered. Hap and Amy were wonderful and would have done anything to make our stay more enjoyable...(impossible). The rooms were some of the best I have ever seen setting the mood for romance. A great getaway for new lovers or a couple trying to reignite an old flame. A+ all around and I will definetley be going back.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

The Stone Hill Inn was our wish come true. After a crazy week of final wedding preperations the Stone Hill in was the perfect place to relax and rejoice. The staff was very helpful. The food was amazing!! Once you walk into the doors at the Inn you feel like you are in heaven. It is so peaceful and quiet.

Also, if you want a late night snack all you have to do is go to the pantry and pick something.

My husband and I think back at our time at the Inn and we can't wait to go back!!

If you want a relaxing private getaway, the stone hill inn is the place to go!

  • Liked — It was so peaceful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

I'm not one to write in to these sites, but I felt compelled to this time. My fiance and I just came back from a 3 night stay at The Stone Hil Inn. We travel extensively and always stay at great resorts/hotels/Inns. I can't imagine that there is a more romantic place to stay in Stowe (or all of Vermont for that matter).

First off, the Inn Keepers, Hap and Amy, are wonderful. They take such pride in their Inn and it shows - not only in the superb service, but in the seemingly endless details.

The location is great. It's only a few minutes to the mountain and all that the village of Stowe has to offer (yet it is up a long drive and nicely set back from the main road).

The room we stayed in was called Catamount. I think they are all similiar. The room was quite spacious and nicely appointed. The big draw is the gas fireplace that faces the bed on one side and the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom on the other side. After a long day of skiing, it was wonderful to come back to our room and soak in a bubblebath across from the fire.

The communal sitting room is very nice and you feel like you are at home. We played cards there one afternoon while enjoying some champagne and cheese we bought from a local merchant. Also, Hap makes a tasty afternon hors d'oeuvre. The food at the Inn is great and totally unexpected. At breakfast you have a choice of 3 fantastic entrees. Far better than the usual continantel breakfast served at most inns.

2 other places of note in Stowe: "Mr Pickwick's" is a charming European style pub that serves good food and a huge variety of ales. It is a quite cozy, little tavern. Also, you must have dinner at "Hen of The Wood". It is located about 20 miuntes from the Inn, in the next town over called Waterbury. It is off the beaten path in a renovated grist mill from the 1800's. The interior is charming - candle lit and very unique. The wine list is quite good and very reasonably priced. The food is fantastic. I had duck breast which is hit or miss at most restaurants and it was phenominal. My fiance had a fabulous Ribeye steak. The service was friendly and attentive.

Don't miss any of these places if you go to Stowe!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

My husband and I have been enjoying this romantic getaway for five years now. We found the property online for our honeymoon and have been enjoying the romance in the mountains ever since. Amy and Hap, B&B owners, are friendly, personable, and cater to your every need. They can provide you with a relaxing vacation in a romantic atmosphere, where you can put all your worries behind you. The breakfasts are spectacular and the evening hors d'oeuvres are tasty and unique. We recommend this B&B without any reservations. Please take advantage of this "Romantic Getaway in the Mountains".

~ Brad and Erica Moore

  • Liked — The delicious food!!!
  • Disliked — I love everything!!!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Address: 89 Houston Farm Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Breakfast Inn was designed exclusively for couples: fireside Jacuzzis for two, king beds piled with pillows, spectacular gardens, haute breakfast cuisine at private tables, nightly turn down service, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. Rooms begin at $245 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.